Offsite copy?

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Offsite copy?

Veeam Logoby ashman70 » Wed May 13, 2015 12:57 pm

I would like to extend a clients backup solution so that they have copies of their backup jobs offsite. They have three locations all connected via 10MB MPLS, and I think I know how to do this but I'd like to run it past you guys.

Site A is where the backup infrastructure resides, so at site B I will install Veeam B&R standard on a server and create a repository. I will then create a backup copy job at site A that points to the repository on site B.

Is there anything else I need to do? I have noticed that the default for backup copy jobs is to run all the time, I should perhaps change this?

Thanks.
ashman70
Expert
 
Posts: 196
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:18 pm
Full Name: Both

Re: Offsite copy?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed May 13, 2015 1:42 pm

Hello,
If you configure VBR Server to be installed remotely from virtual infrastructure, it`s recommended to create backup proxy on the infrastructure site to perform local backups.
So, create a proxy on the site A, create backup job to backup VMs locally and backup copy job to copy those restore points to the site B.

You are correct backup copy job runs constantly, most of the time in idle state, waiting for a new restore point to appear on the source backup repository. There is no need to change it. Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5334
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest