Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
pshute
Expert
Posts: 209
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Retrying backup after accidental reboot

Post by pshute » Jun 18, 2019 10:55 pm

One of our VMs failed in the main backup due to VSS problems, and had almost completed the later retry backup - it had completed 3 of its 4 disks. Then someone accidentally rebooted the server, resulting in "Error: Job aborted due to server termination".

After the reboot, I manually retried the job, and it started backing up that server again from scratch.

1. Will this have left some orphaned temporary files anywhere that I need to clean up?
2. Would it be theoretically possible for the software to continue on from where it left off? I.e. not have to backup the 3 disks already done?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 4193
Liked: 518 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Retrying backup after accidental reboot

Post by HannesK » Jun 19, 2019 5:41 am

Hello,
with rebooting the server, you mean rebooting the VM? I do not expect any issues for VM reboot for a VM backup as we do backups from VMware snapshots. Or are you talking about the Veeam Agent for Windows (I just need to move your post to the correct forum then)?

1. in general: "no". But you can check in VCenter whether there is snapshot existing from Veeam.
2. no, not possible. We do snapshot based backup. A snapshot must be consistent (backup all or nothing)

Best regards,
Hannes

pshute
Expert
Posts: 209
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Re: Retrying backup after accidental reboot

Post by pshute » Jun 19, 2019 6:11 am

Sorry, I meant we rebooted the server running VBR, not the VM being backed up.

In the vSphere client, I just see the new Veeam snapshot for that server (backup is still running at this time), and I see a "remove snapshot" task in the log from just before the new one was created, so Veeam knew to delete that old snapshot when it retried the backup. So theoretically, it could have left it there and continued backing up that same snapshot?

Could there be a file in the repository left over from the aborted backup? Or does it copy directly from the snapshot to the latest backup file? Could that file contain some orphaned data? Ie be bigger than normal? It looks ok so far.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 4193
Liked: 518 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Retrying backup after accidental reboot

Post by HannesK » Jun 19, 2019 6:35 am

thanks for clarification.

It will always backup from the current state. We don't backup "from the past" :-)
Could there be a file in the repository left over from the aborted backup? Or does it copy directly from the snapshot to the latest backup file? Could that file contain some orphaned data? Ie be bigger than normal?
What is the background / goal of the question? In general, VBR cleans up everything. The software is designed to be able to deal with power outage / reboot etc.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests