Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Bondy
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 10:18 am
Full Name: Paul Bond
Contact:

SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by Bondy » Mar 02, 2012 10:50 am

Hi,

I am evaluating Veeam V6 with Vsphere 5. I am trying to test a SQL application item restore. I create the job, go into enterprise manager to approve it, and this is where I get stuck. In the second screen for approving it, from reading the manual it is supposed to list the backups available. "Backup: Select backup to use if VM is processed by more than one job.". There is nothing shown and therefore the next button is greyed out.

I definitely have a valid backup of the VM I am trying to do an application item restore on.

The Veeam backup server is on our corporate network. The target VMWare cluster (and Virtual LAB / VM)is in our DMZ. I have two NICs in the backup server. One connected to the corporate LAN and one connected to the DMZ. So far this has worked fine for everything I have tried including VM backups and restores. Veeam always uses the correct interface so I don't think it's that but I have also tried disabling the firewall between the subnets and tested just in case.

I have also tried running the enterprise manager using valid credentials on both the corporate LAN and the target VM.

Can anyone please give me some ideas what else I can try? I'm out of ideas.

Thanks,

Bondy

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17908
Liked: 1506 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by foggy » Mar 02, 2012 11:49 am

Paul, can you see this VM backups in the Enterprise Manager under the VMs tab? Also, is there a chance that the VM name is specified incorrectly?

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by Cokovic » Mar 02, 2012 1:21 pm

Did you try installing SQL U-Air wizard directly on your Veeam server and using it without enterpise manager?

Bondy
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 02, 2012 10:18 am
Full Name: Paul Bond
Contact:

Re: SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by Bondy » Mar 02, 2012 9:09 pm

Thanks for your replies.

How do you use SQL U-Air without the enterprise manager? How do you approve the restore job?

The only reason I installed it was because from my reading, that is how you approve the restores for U-Air.

SQL U-Air wizard is installed directly on my Veeam server.

Alexander, I could not see the backups in enterprise manager so I spent more time playing with it and can now see them. Therefore I can now get past the point I was getting stuck.

Judging from the reply from Haris, It seems I am doing this in a more complicated way than is necessary. I would appreciate it if you could point me in the direction of something which describes the simplest way to restore a row or table to a DB. Even a whole DB.

Thanks,

Paul

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22521
Liked: 1471 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 03, 2012 2:40 pm

Hi Paul,

If you're the only admin in your environment, there is no need to use Enterprise Manager to approve U-AIR restores.

Please have a look at our sticky F.A.Q. for more details: U-AIR Lab Requests Workflow

Hope this helps!

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: SQL application item restore - am I missing something?

Post by Cokovic » Mar 05, 2012 11:20 am

Jep that's what i meant. Just start your SureBackup manually and then perform the U-Air restore.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests