Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jpeake
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by jpeake » Nov 20, 2012 8:56 pm

Gostev wrote:If you are always gettin [0] at the end of the error, then I'd say this is definitely completely different issue (not what was being discussed in this thread above). WAN issues would cause this number to be random every time the job fails, because connection drop is random.
makes sense. my number is always some random block

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22813
Liked: 2807 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by Gostev » Nov 20, 2012 9:04 pm

In that case, this is clearly WAN link issue that did not exist before. In fact, 6.5 can sustain much worse packet loss than all previous B&R versions, so the issues must be real bad comparing to how this one link used to work when you had previous B&R versions installed. To be precise, this engine's enhancement was added in B&R 6.1 Patch 1.

jpeake
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by jpeake » Nov 20, 2012 9:17 pm

Gostev wrote:In that case, this is clearly WAN link issue that did not exist before. In fact, 6.5 can sustain much worse packet loss than all previous B&R versions, so the issues must be real bad comparing to how this one link used to work when you had previous B&R versions installed. To be precise, this engine's enhancement was added in B&R 6.1 Patch 1.
we just bought Veeam, I wasn't using it for offsite backups before. I had a demo of 6.1, but didn't start doing WAN backups until after I installed 6.5

The connection is a 25Mb cable modem at a branch office. Otherwise rock solid. Connected to our HQ via Cisco ASA site-to-site VPN. The VPN connection is rock stable (currently shows it has been established for 53d : 5h). The users at the remote site use several servers that reside in the HQ, as well as Cisco IP phones, where Call Manager servers are in the HQ. No problems at all with anything else.

I know cable internet can be spotty, but seems strange that only Veeam is having issue. I would expect to see the VPN connection flap if there were serious issues.

aeccles
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by aeccles » Feb 19, 2013 3:05 pm

Gostev wrote:If you are always gettin [0] at the end of the error, then I'd say this is definitely completely different issue (not what was being discussed in this thread above). WAN issues would cause this number to be random every time the job fails, because connection drop is random.
Hi Gostev,

I just got a few of these messages that ended with [0] for the same job over the weekend. My jobs are set to auto-retry, and this error does not come up the second time the job runs. Any ideas what might be causing it? My repository is a windows server and it's going over a WAN link via VPN. I monitor that link and don't show any packet loss or high latency.

*edit - forgot to mention I am using 6.5
thanks

Thanks,
Aaron

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by foggy » Feb 19, 2013 3:18 pm

Aaron, have you already contacted support with this issue?

aeccles
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by aeccles » Feb 19, 2013 4:43 pm

foggy wrote:Aaron, have you already contacted support with this issue?
Hi foggy,

No I have not done that. I was hoping someone had a some background on this and I could save a little time :)

If that's what I should do I'll go ahead and open a case.

Thanks,
Aaron

jpeake
Enthusiast
Posts: 88
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2012 7:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by jpeake » Feb 19, 2013 4:50 pm

I worked with support re: the issue and never got it resolved. WAN connection is the scape-goat. It usually completes during the retry, so i just live with it.

RLPITSOttawa
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 19, 2013 1:33 pm
Full Name: RLPITS Ottawa
Contact:

[MERGED] : Failed backups

Post by RLPITSOttawa » Mar 19, 2013 2:01 pm

Hi,

We've been having an issue with one of our backups. We have one backup for extreemly vital information that is set to run every hour that usually works but sporadically it fails with the error, Error: Client error: End of file Unable to retrieve next block transmission command. Number of already processed blocks: [0]. On occasion the houerly backups will fail consequtively 2 or three times in a row but usually the failiure occurs once a day.

This is on a LAN connection backing up a virtual SERVER2008 machine with the veeam backup software SERVER2008 running on the same ESX host backing up to another non-virtualized backup server running SERVER2008 on the same LAN

Need some insight on this matter

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1133 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 19, 2013 2:19 pm

As it’s been already mentioned, this issue is almost certainly related to the network drops. So, if I were you, I would doublecheck it first.

Furthermore, feel free to open a ticket with our support team and let them take a closer look at your backup infrastructure.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by zak2011 » May 07, 2013 11:35 am 1 person likes this post

I am getting the same error for the past two days for my exchange VM. However I have not observed any network drops. A case has been also opened for the same.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16702
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by foggy » May 07, 2013 11:43 am

Arun, kindly please update this thread with the results of the investigation (as you usually do ;)), as we are very interested to hear the outcome. Thanks!

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22813
Liked: 2807 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by Gostev » May 07, 2013 7:22 pm

...or just include the support case ID so we could follow your support case.

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Case # 00203616

Post by zak2011 » May 07, 2013 8:44 pm

Thanks Gostev..mentioned the case id above... I am sure support will definitely help in resolving this as always :)

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by zak2011 » May 23, 2013 12:54 pm 1 person likes this post

Okay, support had asked me to use Wireshark to capture network packets from the source proxy. I am not sure if they could find anything from this.
However the job using a Linux proxy as a backup repository. This VM was using the VMXnet3 driver. Network drops were observed between the source proxy and the Linux proxy.
After changing the drivers from VMXnet3 to E1000, the job seems to be running proerly.
However it seems unknown the reason as to why the job used to work previously with the VMXnet3 driver and had to be changed.

Thanks!

zak2011
Expert
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Unable to retrieve next block transmission command

Post by zak2011 » May 24, 2013 12:28 pm 3 people like this post

Here the facts laid out by support which resolved the issue.

a) As per the logs sent the connection broke between the source and the target agent.
b) based on the setup we figured out, that the problem is most likely in the target.
c) based on the fact that I saw more issues with vmxnet3 NICs than E1000 I recommended to try switching the NIC type which has helped.
d) Now based on the Fact that changin the NIC type help, we can guess that most likely it is either the driver or the OS issue.
e) My next idea was to redeploy the linux VM from other distributive let's say CentOS and assign it a E1000 NIC. And see how it handles the incoming network IO.

Hope this helps,

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 31 guests