VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby m0ps » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:20 pm

Hi All!
I'm trying to figure out the best way to present Nexenta's iSCSI lun as backup repository for Veeam B&R.
We have 10Tb NexentaStor iSCSI lun, on which we want to store backup's. If I'm correct understand, there is 3 ways to do that:
1) Mount iSCSI lun in ESXi, format is as VMFS. Add vmdk located on this VMFS to VM. In guest OS format it as NTFS and create backup repository on it;
2) Mount iSCSI lun in ESXi and add it to VM as RDM disk. In GuestOS format it as NTFS and create backup repository on it;
3) Mount iSCSI lun directly to GuestOS and format it as NTFS and create backup repository on it.
Which is the best one?

Thanks in advance,
Maxim
m0ps
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:17 am
Full Name: Maxim Kursin

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:29 am

The third one, as the restoration process in this case would be easier in comparison with first two options. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14038
Liked: 1051 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:10 pm

Here is an existing topic that is worth looking through > Don't Store Backups on VMFS...But why not?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20360
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Wed Jun 15, 2016 1:48 am

v.Eremin wrote:The third one, as the restoration process in this case would be easier in comparison with first two options. Thanks.


I'm going to resurrect this to ask a question here...

If that's the best option, how do you backup the Veeam server itself? A per my understanding, you can't snapshot/backup a VM that has in-guest iSCSI going. Mine is giving me all kinds of headaches for this very reason.

Soooo...?


-T.
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:19 am

You can snapshot/backup the VM that has in-guest iSCSI connected disks, those are automatically skipped during processing.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15608
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:11 pm

Oh?

https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... Id=1009073

If you are using Microsoft's iSCSI initiator within the virtual machine, you cannot perform snapshot operations on the virtual machine because it is not supported.


^^ That's the exact headache I'm having, and I've extended the wait to to unreasonable lengths.


-T.
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jun 16, 2016 3:30 pm

This KB is somewhat contradictory:

Using the snapshot manager through VMware Infrastructure (VI) Client to take a VMware snapshot of the virtual machine works without error.


Anyway, it does work as I've mentioned: disks are just skipped from processing, the rest of the VM can be backed up fine.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15608
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:38 pm

That's not how I read the article. The part I quoted and the part you quoted are in two different contexts. The context of your quoted line speaks to a troubleshooting step. Mine speaks to a result.

As a whole I read it to be saying that taking a snapshot in the VI Client works, but any other way doesn't and it is not supported. I don't know why that would be, but that appears to be it.

In any case, I get that exact error message when trying to backup a VM with in-guest iSCSI connections. I guess I should open a ticket?
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:51 pm

Actually, Veeam B&R calls VMware API to take a snapshot so this shouldn't be any different from taking it via vSphere client. Btw, is application-aware processing enabled in the job settings? And yes, opening a case is also appreciated.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15608
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:12 pm

Yes. App aware processing is enabled, and does in fact process my Exchange and SQL logs.

I'll open a ticket when I get a chance.
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby Thernlund » Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:31 pm

I just now stumbled upon what might be the issue... On this same server I have GFI Mail Archiver. Apparently there are some issues with that, and I'm not the only one to have them.

http://feedback.gfi.com/forums/267750-g ... -veeam-b-r
http://forums.gfi.com/Veeam-Backup-for- ... 20342.aspx
vmware-vsphere-f24/gfi-mail-archiver-t26246.html

Sounds like I'm going to have to work out some kind of script solution to shut down GFI-MA before the backup and bring it up after.

I honestly don't know how I didn't figure this out sooner. Looking in the wrong places I guess. <facepalm> I guess I'll pile on to the complaints over at GFI and hope they concoct some solution eventually. :-/
Thernlund
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:02 am
Full Name: Terry Hernlund

[MERGED] Windows 2012 VM as Repo

Veeam Logoby DRUMDUDESAN » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:01 pm

Hi,
I've created the iSCSI setup on VMware. The LUN is presented as 7TB and shows as 7TB to VMware:
-rw------- 1 root root 7.1T Dec 1 17:40 naa.6e843b6f2f25e63df426d4e61dbb19d7

When I look at the Windows 2012 server disk manager diskmgmt.msc, it is broken down in two: 2 and 5 TB approx. Is this normal; I know it is not a Veeam question per say but should I go ahead and create an NTFS volume and merge those twp partitions/simple volumes in Windows 2012 and then proceed adding that server as a data mover?

Thanks
Jeff
DRUMDUDESAN
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Jeff

Re: Windows 2012 VM as Repo

Veeam Logoby MichaelCade » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:19 pm

This to me sounds like its showing as an MBR disk rather than GPT?

The disk in disk manager should be showing with no partitions (black)

You should then be able to right click the disk and convert to GPT this is i believe scalable to 256TB
Regards,

Michael Cade
Global Technologist
Veeam Software
Email: Michael.Cade@Veeam.com
Twitter: @MichaelCade1
MichaelCade
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 120
Liked: 16 times
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Full Name: Michael Cade

Re: Windows 2012 VM as Repo

Veeam Logoby DRUMDUDESAN » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:41 pm

Hi,
I went to Windows command line and it did not even show the other 5TB partition like it showed in Windows....hmmm
DISKPART> list disk

Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
-------- ------------- ------- ------- --- ---
Disk 0 Online 60 GB 0 B
Disk 1 Online 7292 GB 2047 GB

I went to VMware ESXi command line and saw the partition was msdos....from there I set the partition table to GPT

Now I am good to go.

DISKPART> list disk

Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
-------- ------------- ------- ------- --- ---
Disk 0 Online 60 GB 0 B
Disk 1 Online 7292 GB 7292 GB *


Thanks
Jeff
DRUMDUDESAN
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 2:42 pm
Full Name: Jeff

Re: VMFS, RDM or iSCSI as backup repository

Veeam Logoby PTide » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:43 pm

Hi,

You really don't want to keep your backups on NTFS that is built atop of VMFS volume, it'd be better to present the LUN directly to the Guest OS instead. Please check the thread above for details.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3403
Liked: 283 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest