vmotion while backup job running ?

VMware specific discussions

vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby EBoucq » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:36 pm

Hello,

Is there a risk of job failure if you migrate a vm (vmotion) while it's been backed up ?
Thanks,
Eric
EBoucq
Expert
 
Posts: 213
Liked: 14 times
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:10 am
Full Name: Eric Boucq

Re: vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:01 pm

Hello Eric,
vMotion should not abort backup job if the job started earlier. Make sure your infrastructure objects added through vCenter Server (not as individual clusters/hosts) to avoid undesirable situations.
Also, if you choose host(s) as backup object, you may have same VM be backed up several times.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4856
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:36 am

I believe the backup job might fail, if the location of VM disks and VM changes. Also keep in mind that you cannot create a snapshot for a VM which is being "vMotioned", so neither backup or replication job will be possible.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby alanbolte » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:36 pm

Doesn't VDDK lock a VM to prevent relocation once we start moving data around? Or is that only storage vMotion and not host vMotion.
alanbolte
Expert
 
Posts: 635
Liked: 170 times
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte

Re: vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 28, 2016 5:16 pm

Good point, Alan!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vmotion while backup job running ?

Veeam Logoby crackocain » Mon Mar 28, 2016 6:37 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi. In ESX 5.0 we are moving VM to another datastore. Then backup cycle started. Horrible thing happened. Locked VMDK disk missing the datastore. Yeah VMDK is deleted or something. We can not understand it. In virtual machine edit settings Harddisk is there. But VMDK missing.

Maybe later ESX releases this problem may be fixed. But i'm recommend if you use storage vmotion, all backup and replication jobs must be disabled.

No need to take risk.
EMC, IBM Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey
crackocain
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 62
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Location: Turkey
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests