Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jrwilmoth040707
Service Provider
Posts: 91
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2015 1:53 pm
Full Name: James Wilmoth
Contact:

VMware RDM instead of VMDK?

Post by jrwilmoth040707 » Nov 26, 2017 11:45 pm

I have read that storing backups in a VMDK/VMFS volume is not recommend/best practice. (vmware-vsphere-f24/don-t-store-backups- ... 66-15.html and https://www.veeam.com/blog/vmware-backu ... tices.html)

I am trying to design an all-in-one DR appliance as follows:

CHASSIS: Dell R430 (or something like that) w/ 10 x 2.5"
CPU(s): 2 x Xeon E5-2600 v4 w/ 10 cores ea
RAM: 64GB
OS DRIVES: 256GB SSD (RAID1)
DATA DRIVES: 2 x 4TB RAID1 (for replicas) and 6 x 4TB RAID10 (for backups)
NICS: 1GbE
HOST: VMware Essentials
VM(s): 1 x Server 2016 Standard w/ Veeam B&R

The DR appliance would be configured such that VMware and the VM reside on the SSD RAID1. The 4TB RAID1 would be presented to Veeam as a replica repository. The RAID10 would be (option 1) a datastore with a single VMDK, presented to the VM for backups OR (option 2) passed through to the VM as a RDM.

So based on what others have said, VMDK is not a recommended way to go for the backup volume. What about RDM?

My objective is to have an appliance that can handle both replicas and backups and DR/restore from either. Suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3717
Liked: 658 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VMware RDM instead of VMDK?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Nov 27, 2017 9:57 am

Hi James,
thanks for the questions.
Technically it do not matter if you store the backup on a pRDM or a vmdk.
The recommendation to go with pRDMs is that you avoid any single point of failure when your VMs go offline because of VMFS bugs, the idea is to not affect the backups at same time.

The risk is lower when you have a completely seperated VMware environment for backups, but still if there is no technical benefit in using a vmdk there, use a pRDM. At the end you can mount the prdm on any Windows Server and access the data without vmware if needed.

jhoughes
Veeam Software
Posts: 94
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Apr 20, 2017 4:19 pm
Full Name: Joe Houghes
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: VMware RDM instead of VMDK?

Post by jhoughes » Nov 27, 2017 7:43 pm

If the host is running ESXi with only local disks, you will not have an option to present those RAID groups as RDMs.
Husband, Father, Solutions Architect, Geek Extraordinaire | @AustinVMUG & @ATXPowerShell leader | vExpert | Cisco Champion | Tech Field Day Delegate | VCP 4/5/6 | VCP6-NV | VMware/Cisco UCS/Powershell/VEEAM Enthusiast

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3717
Liked: 658 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VMware RDM instead of VMDK?

Post by Andreas Neufert » Nov 27, 2017 8:52 pm

If you have the right hardware you can... https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1017530

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests