Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
tsmith_co
Veeam Software
Posts: 73
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Dec 12, 2013 1:23 pm
Full Name: Tim Smith
Location: Ohio
Contact:

VSAN and lab use

Post by tsmith_co » Dec 12, 2013 1:29 pm

Hi Veeam team,

I know that VSAN is not supported since it is in beta, etc.

But, I was wondering if there is anyway to allow Veeam to backup VMs (unsupported) residing on my VSAN cluster for lab use. It's use is a home lab / testing ( quite popular use of VSAN right now). I miss using Veeam to backup my lab :(

Obviously, I know any way to enable to completely unsupported, and in no way would I receive support for a problem :)

Thanks!
Tim Smith
https://tsmith.co
@tsmith_co

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23410
Liked: 1665 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 12, 2013 4:41 pm

Hi Tim,

I'm not aware of any way (even unsupported ;) ) to enable this functionality in the current release.

Thanks!

davedunaway
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2013 7:11 pm
Full Name: David Dunaway
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by davedunaway » Dec 12, 2013 7:15 pm

I would also like to know if and when this is possible.
Also testing VMware VSAN in my lab and would like the ability to use Veeam to back it up.

-David

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23410
Liked: 1665 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 12, 2013 7:44 pm

David, it will be possible to backup VMs from vSAN once this functionality is officially released.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25522
Liked: 3872 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by Gostev » Dec 12, 2013 8:47 pm

Here is the snipped from the weekly forum digest 4 days ago that you did not get because you have registered on the forums a few days later ;)
gostev wrote: I've been getting some questions regarding VMware vSAN support. Indeed, it was possible to perform backups with B&R versions prior to v7 in certain processing modes, as those versions were released before vSAN beta became available. However, you may note that v7 has this capability disabled. Our testing has uncovered a number of issues (not immediately obvious) that we need to address before claiming full vSAN support. Also, we need to "teach" our intelligent load-balancing to work optimally with vSAN. Most work is already done on our side, so we are just waiting for vSAN to be officially released. We do not want to waste time chasing the ever changing beta code (by the way, it was recently updated), or deal with possible data corruptions in the pre-release code.

palmtown
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2014 4:33 am
Full Name: Lewis Harris
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by palmtown » Jan 03, 2014 5:09 am

Hello,

Any update on supporting vSAN? Does it work, however, without support or does it flat out not work?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23410
Liked: 1665 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 03, 2014 1:22 pm

Anton's reply above is still applicable.

palmtown
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2014 4:33 am
Full Name: Lewis Harris
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by palmtown » Feb 04, 2014 5:19 am

Hello there,

Just checking in to see if there's any update on this? Unfortunately, the only solution that works for vSAN is VDP and it doesn't work very well.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by foggy » Feb 04, 2014 5:37 am

Lewis, as far as I know, Virtual SAN is still in beta stage, so nothing has changed since the Anton's post above. Thanks.

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5841
Liked: 1679 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by dellock6 » Feb 04, 2014 5:13 pm 1 person likes this post

Lewis, I never tested VSAN yet, but if it's in beta, how can VDP support it?
If you mean "it works", well I would say any backup solution using hotadd could work, since it only sees a datastore with a VM inside. So, even if (repeated again) is totally UNSUPPORTED, also Veeam in HotAdd mode should work.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

davedunaway
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 12, 2013 7:11 pm
Full Name: David Dunaway
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by davedunaway » Feb 10, 2014 12:10 am

Luca,

I'm not sure what you mean by "hot add mode" but what we are complaining about here is that Veeam will not even attempt to backup a VM that resides on a VSAN datastore.
Of course we are asking for a totally unsupported solution here. it would just be nice to run Veeam on top of VSAN in an "unsupported" mode.

David

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by foggy » Feb 10, 2014 11:38 am

davedunaway wrote:I'm not sure what you mean by "hot add mode"
Hotadd (aka Virtual Appliance mode) is a transport mode used by Veeam B&R proxy server to retrieve VM data from the source datastore by directly attaching its disks to itself.

palmtown
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2014 4:33 am
Full Name: Lewis Harris
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by palmtown » Mar 17, 2014 10:46 pm

Hello,

vSAN GA was released, any update when Veeam will support it?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17267
Liked: 1513 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by veremin » Mar 18, 2014 8:32 am

Hi, Lewis, please take a look at the adjacent thread. The answer provided there by Alexander should answer your question. Thanks.

palmtown
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2014 4:33 am
Full Name: Lewis Harris
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by palmtown » Mar 19, 2014 7:08 am

Hey V.Eremin,

Thanks for the update, I see it should be ready in about 2 months :)

LukeAd
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 07, 2014 2:35 pm
Full Name: Luke Admin
Contact:

[MERGED] VSAN support

Post by LukeAd » May 07, 2014 2:46 pm

I've read the following posts (http://forums.veeam.com/vmware-vsphere- ... 19841.html and http://forums.veeam.com/vmware-vsphere- ... 20997.html) which say VSAN backup support should be available soon. We've got some critical licensing decisions and HW purchase decisions to make in the next couple of weeks and I'm currently having to look at dropping Veeam for VDPA to get guaranteed support for VSAN backups. I really don't want to do this as we don't actually need to implement Veeam backup for VSAN for another month or so (though we need to make the purchasing decisions in the next two weeks).

I just wanted to see if support for VSAN backups is still "on track" and if we can still expect to see it released in the next few weeks (as speculated a couple of months ago in the linked threads).

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by foggy » May 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Yes, we're working on delivering vSAN support in the upcoming Patch #4 later this month.

LukeAd
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 07, 2014 2:35 pm
Full Name: Luke Admin
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by LukeAd » May 08, 2014 9:02 pm

Excellent...thank you for the update.

Do you know if there will be any notable limitations in the initial VSAN support in Patch #4?

Also, one of our backup targets is a local Data Domain 640 which then replicates to another offsite DD640 for DR. When we were looking at possibly having to switch to using VDPA, we found out that VDPA requires you to license Data Domain Boost (DDBoost) on the DD640. Will Veeam have a similar requirement when VSAN support is added (it doesn't currently)?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by foggy » May 08, 2014 9:14 pm

I don't currently have any relevant information regarding vSAN support. I will try to check though whether there are any details we can share.

LukeAd
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 6 times
Joined: May 07, 2014 2:35 pm
Full Name: Luke Admin
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by LukeAd » May 14, 2014 8:54 pm

Foggy, just checking in to see if you had a chance to check yet

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18666
Liked: 1631 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by foggy » May 15, 2014 11:36 am

Currently there are no known limitations regarding vSAN support. Please wait for the official announcement for more detailed info. Thanks.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 25522
Liked: 3872 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VSAN and lab use

Post by Gostev » May 19, 2014 10:00 pm

LukeAd wrote:Also, one of our backup targets is a local Data Domain 640 which then replicates to another offsite DD640 for DR. When we were looking at possibly having to switch to using VDPA, we found out that VDPA requires you to license Data Domain Boost (DDBoost) on the DD640. Will Veeam have a similar requirement when VSAN support is added (it doesn't currently)?
No

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests