Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
danswartz
Expert
Posts: 161
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by danswartz » Sep 18, 2015 2:22 am 1 person likes this post

I hit this too - updated two hosts from 6.0 => 6.0u1 and suddenly replication jobs failing with authd ssl errors. Made this change per vmware:

in /etc/vmware/config
vmauthd.ssl.noSSLv3 = false

success!

NerdyBarry
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 18, 2015 11:13 pm
Full Name: Steve Barry
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by NerdyBarry » Sep 18, 2015 11:15 pm

We applied the hotfix and can now back up our ESXi 6 hosts. However, we noticed that vCenter tags are not visible through Veeam on our vCenter 6 instance. Is anyone else experiencing this issue? I'm not sure if it's related to the SSL bug or not.

agiesen
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2010 6:54 pm
Full Name: Andy Giesen
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by agiesen » Sep 20, 2015 2:17 am

Curious, does disabling SSLv3 in Windows stop Veeam from attempting to use SSL?

akrimmer
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Nov 10, 2014 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by akrimmer » Sep 20, 2015 3:55 pm

Same issue here after updating to ESXi 6U1 last night. Re-enabling SSLv3 per the OP link fixed it.

dahuafschmied
Service Provider
Posts: 9
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 22, 2013 6:04 am
Full Name: Markus Flattinger
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by dahuafschmied » Sep 21, 2015 5:09 am

in may 2015 i had a similar problem with ssl in debian 8 perhaps it is the same background:
http://forums.veeam.com/veeam-backup-re ... 29285.html

wreedps
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 14, 2015 2:11 am
Full Name: Will Reed
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by wreedps » Sep 21, 2015 3:35 pm

When will the update be publicly available?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 21, 2015 4:11 pm

wreedps wrote:When will the update be publicly available?
The hotfix for this problem is already available through our support team. If you're referring to Update 3 for Veeam B&R, then please review foggy's response in the beginning of the topic.

wreedps
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 14, 2015 2:11 am
Full Name: Will Reed
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by wreedps » Sep 21, 2015 4:53 pm

I opened a case to get the temp patch.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 21, 2015 7:43 pm

agiesen wrote:Curious, does disabling SSLv3 in Windows stop Veeam from attempting to use SSL?
Can you please clarify what setting in Windows sever you're referring to?

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 218
Liked: 58 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by lightsout » Sep 21, 2015 7:45 pm

You can tell IE not to use SSLv3 down the bottom of the advanced settings. I will say it didn't make any difference for me!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22984
Liked: 1556 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 21, 2015 8:36 pm

Yes, that's correct. IE settings do not affect proxy/backups server and vCenter Server communication.

danswartz
Expert
Posts: 161
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber
Contact:

[MERGED] Long delay during replication jobs?

Post by danswartz » Sep 22, 2015 2:30 pm

Opening a new thread rather than hijacking the vsphere 6.0U1 thread (since I have no idea if there is a connection.) I have vsphere 6.0U1 on the host being replicated, and running veeam B&R 8.0.0.2030. I am noticing a major delay (on the order of minutes) when replicating VMs. Out of the dozen or so VMs on that VMFS datastore, 3 are replicated hourly (backups of all are done nightly). In all 3 cases, there is a major delay for the 'Processing Configuration' phase. On the order of minutes. Even more strangely, for the first two VMs, the delay is always the same (7:38 minutes and 10:09 minutes respectively). The 3rd VM's delay varies, but is also on the order of 7 minutes or longer. There are no error messages I can see in the vsphere/vcenter task information, and the replication job does finish with no errors. Note that the backup jobs do not have this issue (they do not have the 'Processing Configuration' phase. I can't swear as to when this started, but my vague feeling is when I upgraded the host to 6.0 (or maybe 6.0U1?) I you want me to open a ticket, I will do so, but I am more curious, since there doesn't appear to be any negative impact - just curious if anyone else has seen this?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Long delay during replication jobs?

Post by foggy » Sep 22, 2015 2:55 pm

Dan, I'd still recommend to open a case, since most likely logs contain information about what actually happens during those delays.

danswartz
Expert
Posts: 161
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber
Contact:

Re: Long delay during replication jobs?

Post by danswartz » Sep 22, 2015 3:52 pm 1 person likes this post

Opened case ID #01062626. I renamed today's logfile for that job, then re-ran it. This was it is 1/10th the size...

danswartz
Expert
Posts: 161
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber
Contact:

Re: Long delay during replication jobs?

Post by danswartz » Sep 23, 2015 1:32 pm 2 people like this post

Working now (thanks Support!) In my post in the 6.0u1 thread, I mentioned hitting the sslv3 issue and applying the vmware workaround, but that was to address replication not working at all, so I only applied it on the production host. The backup host is where the replicas go, so it was hitting the same issue (not sure why the jobs would eventually work - I guess the sslv3 thing is not fatal there?) Anyway, per Support, I applied the same vmware workaround to the backup host, and now the configuration fetching phase completes in a matter of seconds.

dan11
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by dan11 » Sep 30, 2015 12:06 pm

After updating to esxi 6.0u1 and implementing the hotfix for SSLv3 problem, erverything works fine.

Just one problem with Surebackup: The VMs don't identify the network connection as "Domain Network". Surebackup completes sucessfull but exchange services for example are unable to start (because of identifying the connection as public network). This happens with the DC too.

Does anyone facing the same problems after updating vmware to 6.0u1?

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 218
Liked: 58 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by lightsout » Sep 30, 2015 12:10 pm

I've not had that problem after applying the patch.

The only issue I see is, depending on how you configured your SureBackup network, can you confirm that Veeam's virtual appliance is on the same ESXi host where the SureBackup network is defined? e.g. if SureBackup uses a standard switch then it is typically locked to one host.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by foggy » Sep 30, 2015 12:12 pm

I believe this is not specific to this update. Windows Firewall recognizes the virtual lab network as a new one and applies "public" firewall profile to it.

dan11
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by dan11 » Sep 30, 2015 3:08 pm

Yes, all VMs in the Virtual Lab are on the same host. The Virtual Lab Network is connected, ping is running...
this never happened since I'm using Surebackup for 2 years...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by foggy » Sep 30, 2015 3:40 pm

Please try this workaround.

dan11
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 25, 2015 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by dan11 » Oct 01, 2015 7:09 am

Thanks foggy, it works now. I didn't run in to this problem till now because I never changed the Virtual lab proxy after updating Veeam… I did recreate the Virtual Lab after the vmware migration...

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1559 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2015 12:03 pm

That explains. Btw, the fix for this issue will be included in the upcoming Update 3.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Gostev » Oct 01, 2015 8:06 pm

Hi everyone! v8 Update 3 that (particularly) fixes the issue that started this topic went gold yesterday. If you'd like to participate in the pilot, please contact our support for the download link. Thanks!

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by jamerson » Oct 02, 2015 9:18 pm

are there reasons why is the link not public yet ? and need to access it just through the support team ?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Gostev » Oct 03, 2015 1:32 am

Because it is not generally available yet. We always start from a week or two of pilot deployments.

simwood
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 18, 2013 2:30 pm
Full Name: Woody
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by simwood » Oct 03, 2015 1:46 pm

Thanks for this! Solved my problem after hours of chasing around VSAN issues that weren't there.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by jamerson » Oct 04, 2015 3:38 pm

Thank you
already contacted the support team.

lightsout
Expert
Posts: 218
Liked: 58 times
Joined: Apr 10, 2014 4:13 pm
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by lightsout » Oct 06, 2015 4:13 pm 2 people like this post

There is now a patch for 6.0 U1 which fixes the NETDEV WATCHDOG issue too.

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2132153

chris.childerhose
Service Provider
Posts: 110
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Aug 13, 2014 6:03 pm
Full Name: Chris Childerhose
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by chris.childerhose » Oct 06, 2015 4:17 pm

Sweet I was waiting for this before upgrading my hosts from 5.5. Now I can move forward!! :D
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9
VCAP-DCA / VCP6 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24789
Liked: 3523 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: vSphere 6.0 U1

Post by Gostev » Oct 08, 2015 3:54 pm

B&R 8.0 Update 3 bringing full support for vSphere 6.0 Update 1 (without having to enable SSL on hosts) is now generally available > KB2068

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests