Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V in a single System Center Operations Manager Console
krowczynski
Enthusiast
Liked: never
Full Name: Arkadiusz Krowczynski

VMware Tools Heartbeat Status

Post by krowczynski »

Hi,

I am new to nworks and have a quick question.
I get several times a day the messege "nworks:VMware Tools Heartbeat Status change to Yellow" after 10 or 15 Minutes the warning went awwy.
Looking on my ESX host I don not see something critcal throght this vms.

Have anyone else this issue or should I set the threhold to more than 10 Minutes?

Thanks for answers.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware Tolls Heartbeat Status

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Arkadiusz,

Could you check that all VMware Tools are all up to date, also check the physical memory allocation for the virtual machines that raise that alerts?

Basically, we get all the info from VMware API. The alert is generated if the tools are not responding for 5-10 minutes as far as I remember, but sometimes VC may experinence some latency issues and still telling via API that the tools gone red/yellow.

We get this message from the Collector which tracks the change in VMwareVMStats.guestHeartbeatStatus field in VI API.

The trigger is related to VMware monitors and tell us that status. You should look at VM\Summary Tab\General\VMware Tools for full information, also all additional information you can see at VMwareVMStats.guestHeartbeatStatus using VMware MOB (Managed Object Browser)

To check that field status please follow these instructions:

1. connect to your VC via ip address using browser
2. then choose browse objects managed by VirtualCenter (it is located at the bottom, on the right corner)
3. after that choose "content ServiceContent: content"
4. then click to "rootFolder ManagedObjectReference:Folder:" your Value