Discussions specific to tape backups
Post Reply
Bobin_NZ
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2014 5:39 am
Full Name: Latham Keen
Contact:

[MERGED] : Veeam 8 & AWS VTL

Post by Bobin_NZ » Jan 14, 2015 5:11 am

Hi Guys

Decided to try out AWS VTL now that Veeam officially supports it.

Went through all the steps on AWS website and all seemed to go well apart from one problem (there is always one). I can't seem to get the barcodes from the tapes in the VTL library into Veeam. I have tried rescanning, re-indexing, etc, etc, but no joy. All I can come up with is its got to be the media changer. In the AWS guide it says to use the SLK-L700 media changer (which is a SUN product) and the drivers AWS says to use are the "SONY TSL-A500C Autoloader". I would of thought there proper drivers for this SLK-L700 and that is why I can not read the barcode of the Tapes.

Any one got this working ? I hope i'm not the only one :(

Latham

Case number #00726328

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 14, 2015 8:51 am

Hi, Latham,

Are you positive that all of the requirements provided by Dmitriy have been followed?

Thanks.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8774
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Dima P. » Jan 14, 2015 11:46 am

Hello Latham,
I can't seem to get the barcodes from the tapes in the VTL library into Veeam.
There is indeed an issue with SONY TSL-A500C Autoloader drivers as it does not properly pass the barcode information from Amazon to Veeam tape service. As a workaround you can manually rename tape media according to the Amazon console, meanwhile we are working to get this fixed. Thank you.

Bobin_NZ
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2014 5:39 am
Full Name: Latham Keen
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Bobin_NZ » Jan 14, 2015 10:02 pm

Thanks for the quick reply Dmitry

Will use the workaround as suggested. Fingers crossed you guys can work it out.

Thanks again

Latham

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8774
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Dima P. » Jan 19, 2015 4:31 pm

Latham,
Thanks! The plan is to provide a solution in the next major release, so stay tuned.

Meyercord
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2014 4:31 pm
Full Name: AJ Meyercord
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Meyercord » Feb 19, 2015 6:32 pm

Looking forward to a fix for the barcode issue.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 20, 2015 10:27 am

As mentioned above, I wouldn't expect this to be addressed pretty soon, as amount of changes required makes it rather next release, than just a patch. Thanks.

Meyercord
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2014 4:31 pm
Full Name: AJ Meyercord
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Meyercord » Feb 20, 2015 2:45 pm

Oh, I had the impression that Dmitry's workaround was only intended as a temporary measure and that a fix would be coming soon.
As a workaround you can manually rename tape media according to the Amazon console, meanwhile we are working to get this fixed. Thank you.

Manually renaming every tape is not a practical long-term solution. Even doing it once is a pain. Are you saying we won't see a fix until Version 9?

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 20, 2015 3:31 pm

As Dmitry's mentioned, it's more likely that the fix will be implemented in the next release, rather than in the upcoming patch. The main reason is that fix requires mutual efforts from both Amazon and Veeam, and the whole process might not necessarily be that fast.
d.popov wrote: Latham,
Thanks! The plan is to provide a solution in the next major release, so stay tuned.
Thanks.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8774
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Dima P. » Feb 20, 2015 11:58 pm

Hello AJ,
Manually renaming every tape is not a practical long-term solution.
Just out of curiosity, how many tapes your VTL is handling? Are you using VTL shelf for export?

Meyercord
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 14, 2014 4:31 pm
Full Name: AJ Meyercord
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Meyercord » Mar 09, 2015 8:58 pm

We are still in the evaluation and planning stage, so I don't know how many tapes we will use ultimately; but our monthly backups are around 3TB. I am still trying to decide the ideal tape size for Amazon VTL that will balance manageability with recovery time and cost. Larger tapes means fewer to manage, but it also means a higher cost and time to recover, since restoring even a single file would require at least an entire tape and possibly multiple tapes to be downloaded from Glacier. Smaller tapes allow me to retrieve the minimum data necessary to perform a restore.

Right now, I'm considering a relatively small tape size of around 200Gib, which would result in about 300 tapes initially, plus another 15 per month. We would most likely be archiving/exporting to Glacier on a monthly basis.

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8774
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Dima P. » Mar 09, 2015 9:54 pm

AJ,
Great, thanks for sharing! As it was mentioned before, we are going provide a fix in the major release. Possibly, we will get a private fix some time before the v9 release, so if you (or maybe other readers) are interested in testing it in non-production environment, please, let me know via PM. Thank you.

Bobin_NZ
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 25, 2014 5:39 am
Full Name: Latham Keen
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Bobin_NZ » Mar 25, 2015 11:01 pm

Hi Guys.

I have been using the gateway for the last 2 quarterly backups and have noticed that Veeam only seems to use two of the tape drives available to it. There is a total of 10 and was wondering how I increase it?

Any Ideas?

Many Thanks

Latham

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15227
Liked: 1146 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by v.Eremin » Mar 26, 2015 11:48 am

I have been using the gateway for the last 2 quarterly backups and have noticed that Veeam only seems to use two of the tape drives available to it.
You mean that backup server is using only two drives simultaneously or just two specific drives, disregarding the other 8?

Dima P.
Veeam Software
Posts: 8774
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Amazon AWS VTL Gateway

Post by Dima P. » Mar 26, 2015 1:01 pm

Hello Latham,
In addition, how many tapes are displayed as 'AVAILABLE' in the VTL console?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dima P. and 13 guests