Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Everything about backing up to tape

Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby dcrudo » Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:43 am

I wonder if anyone can help me out on this:

Everyday, before the backup job to to tape is scheduled, we get a warning "Insert a tape to continue" although the tape is already
in the drive.

It seems we get the message then the tape is automatically checked and the backup starts. The job finishes succesfully, but we
always get this warning.

I could not find anywhere to change this setting and in addition, i wonder if it would be possible to run an inventory check
around 4 PM and notify the user if the tape has not been inserted yet (like a preflight check).

Thanks a lot!

Dave
dcrudo
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:02 pm
Full Name: Dave

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:19 am

What happens if you try to inventory the drive first prior to starting a job? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby dcrudo » Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:59 am

Inventoring the drive manually, will not trigger the email message...


thanks!
Dave
dcrudo
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:02 pm
Full Name: Dave

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:54 am

Then, you can just schedule the following script to take place around 4 PM:

Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapeDrive -Name "Name of your Drive" | Start-VBRTapeInventory


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby dcrudo » Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:35 pm

Hi Eremin,

When i run the following command:

Code: Select all
Get-VBRTapeDrive -Name "Tape0" | Start-VBRTapeInventory


i get the following error:

Code: Select all
Start-VBRTapeInventory : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Medium'. The argument is null. Provide a valid value
for the argument, and then try running the command again.
At line:1 char:34
+ Get-VBRTapeDrive -Name "Tape0" | Start-VBRTapeInventory
+                                  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidData: (Tape0:PSObject) [Start-VBRTapeInventory], ParameterBindingValidationExcept
   ion
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Cmdlets.StartVBRTapeInventory


I went to look for the details of the tape just issuing the Get-VBRTapeDrive and i get the following:


Code: Select all
Address      : 0
Device       : HUJ4472D45
Enabled      : True
IsLocked     : False
LibraryId    : 65f49f38-3241-4f33-9d0f-8bb42632c59b
Medium       :
Model        : HP Ultrium 5-SCSI
SerialNumber : HUJ4472D45
State        : Loaded
Id           : 527e3ac9-f6ca-45f7-b2ce-791cc9228dff
Name         : Tape0
Description  :


and i can see that the field Medium is null...

any idea?

I've looked at the configuration, but as i understand it, "medium" might get filled once the inventory is run.. (didn't try yet)...

Thanks!
Dave
dcrudo
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:02 pm
Full Name: Dave

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:54 pm

Can you change a script slightly and see how well it goes?

Code: Select all
$Drive = Get-VBRTapeDrive -Name "Name of your Drive"
Start-VBRTapeInvetory -Library $Drive


Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13255
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] Warning "Insert a tape to continue"

Veeam Logoby Joe_L » Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:44 pm

I have a single LTO drive (not a library) and receive the above alert email when the job starts, despite having inserted a new blank tape before the job. Do I have to schedule a pre-job inventory for it to spot the new tape?
Joe_L
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Joe Lenartowicz

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Apr 20, 2015 1:31 pm

Hello Joe,
Do jobs work fine despite of the message? Is the warning triggered when the job is running?
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4850
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Joe_L » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:34 pm

Hi Nikita,

Yes jobs work fine, and I get the message just as the job starts.

Should I insert a pre-job script like the one above? Perhaps this should be a feature request...

Joe
Joe_L
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Joe Lenartowicz

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:53 pm

Yes Joe, please give it a try.
Have you tried to inventory a drive before the job`s run?
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4850
Liked: 394 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Joe_L » Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:02 pm

Yes that works but I don't want tape operators to have to do that manually every time.
Joe
Joe_L
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Joe Lenartowicz

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:04 pm

Hello Joe,
If you want to disable the Waiting for Tape email notification you can add the corresponding regkey to the VBR server:

DWORD WaitingTapeNotificationEnabled 0 (0 – disable / 1 - enable)

Also, I wonder if you are running the latest patch: we have corrected several bugs regarding the tape email notifications - worth checking.
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Joe_L » Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:20 pm

I don't want to turn off the notifications in case someone forgot to put a tape in. The problem is its sending a notification when there IS a tape waiting but Veeam hasn't noticed it yet!

We're on 8.0.0.917 patch1
Joe_L
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Joe Lenartowicz

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:48 pm

The problem is its sending a notification when there IS a tape waiting but Veeam hasn't noticed it yet!

Once there is no free media – you get immediate email notification, that’s correct. The automatic inventory to recognize the new inserted tape media will happen automatically (somewhat every 1 minute or so). Does the job start after you insert a new tape media or not?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6231
Liked: 439 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Insert Tape to Continue...tape already in...

Veeam Logoby Joe_L » Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:24 pm

The automatic inventory appears not to be working in the way I would expect: the tape has already been inserted some hours before but the tape drive is listed as empty in the GUI. If it was properly recognising new inserted tapes every 1 minute or so why is it not listed?

Then when the job starts at the scheduled time I receive an email alert "insert tape to continue". The job continues automatically (which is OK) but the alert message is redundant (which is not good as it could make someone think the wrong tape was inserted or make a journey to site unnecessarily).
Joe_L
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 3:21 pm
Full Name: Joe Lenartowicz

Next

Return to Tape



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests