-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jan 24, 2011 12:20 pm
- Contact:
Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hello Veeam Forum,
One of my clients wants to run his veeam agent backups of his workstations from a command because the programming can not be used.
When I run a Veeam Agent job through an administrator-managed cli script, I get the following message "Backup job settings not being configured, because they are managed by your system administrator"
Command executed via script on the machine: "" C: \ Program Files \ Veeam \ Endpoint Backup \ Veeam.EndPoint.Manager.exe "/ backup" <ID> "".
In addition, are there any conditions for executing the Veeam agent backups, the IP address of the gateway or others.
Thanx for your reply,
Context : Veeam Agent installed and managed by VBR Server
Version Agent : 3.0.2.1170
Version Server VBR : 9.5.4.2866
One of my clients wants to run his veeam agent backups of his workstations from a command because the programming can not be used.
When I run a Veeam Agent job through an administrator-managed cli script, I get the following message "Backup job settings not being configured, because they are managed by your system administrator"
Command executed via script on the machine: "" C: \ Program Files \ Veeam \ Endpoint Backup \ Veeam.EndPoint.Manager.exe "/ backup" <ID> "".
In addition, are there any conditions for executing the Veeam agent backups, the IP address of the gateway or others.
Thanx for your reply,
Context : Veeam Agent installed and managed by VBR Server
Version Agent : 3.0.2.1170
Version Server VBR : 9.5.4.2866
-
- Veeam Software
- Posts: 2010
- Liked: 669 times
- Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
- Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hi Jneau,
It happens because you are using Veeam Agent managed by VBR server.
Cli commands won't work in this case unless the agent is standalone.
Try executing powershell code below from VBR powershell console:
Check this thread for the reference.
Thanks,
Oleg
It happens because you are using Veeam Agent managed by VBR server.
Cli commands won't work in this case unless the agent is standalone.
Try executing powershell code below from VBR powershell console:
Code: Select all
get-vbrjob -name 'JobName' | where {$_.JobType -eq 'EPAgentPolicy'} | start-vbrjob
Thanks,
Oleg
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jan 24, 2011 12:20 pm
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hi,
So I go back and I will deploy the autonomous agents on the posts. It's a shame because my client wanted to manage everything from Veeam Enterprise Manager.
In the evolutions of the Veeam Agent, it is not planned to improve the planning with conditions of execution of the job for example when I am on a specific gateway instead of having only a notion of time and day?
Thank you for your reply,
Have a good day,
Julien,
So I go back and I will deploy the autonomous agents on the posts. It's a shame because my client wanted to manage everything from Veeam Enterprise Manager.
In the evolutions of the Veeam Agent, it is not planned to improve the planning with conditions of execution of the job for example when I am on a specific gateway instead of having only a notion of time and day?
Thank you for your reply,
Have a good day,
Julien,
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27368
- Liked: 2799 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hi,
Thanks!
If you want a web-based management UI for Veeam Agents, then you can take a look at Veeam Availability Console that was built for service providers but can be used regular customers as well (when meeting certain requirements). Or as an alternative, you can become a Veeam service provider (maybe you're already a provider since you're referring to your clients).Jneau wrote:So I go back and I will deploy the autonomous agents on the posts. It's a shame because my client wanted to manage everything from Veeam Enterprise Manager.
Can you clarify the piece about gateways? Do you want backup traffic to go through a specific NIC?Jneau wrote:In the evolutions of the Veeam Agent, it is not planned to improve the planning with conditions of execution of the job for example when I am on a specific gateway instead of having only a notion of time and day?
Thanks!
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jan 24, 2011 12:20 pm
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hi,
Veeam Agent is deployed on laptops, users are itinerant. And my client wants backups to run only when laptops are on the seat.
Clearly, at the start of the workstation, when the veeam agent detects a gateway internet ip address for example 192.168.2.254 then it performs its backup, if not, the backup is not executed.
I will not have the choice to modify my agents in standalone and unmanaged by a VBR, and to create a script for execution of the backup with a condition of the Internet gateway.
Can VAC Manage Standalone Veeam Agents? not managed by a VBR?
Best regards,
Julien,
Veeam Agent is deployed on laptops, users are itinerant. And my client wants backups to run only when laptops are on the seat.
Clearly, at the start of the workstation, when the veeam agent detects a gateway internet ip address for example 192.168.2.254 then it performs its backup, if not, the backup is not executed.
I will not have the choice to modify my agents in standalone and unmanaged by a VBR, and to create a script for execution of the backup with a condition of the Internet gateway.
Can VAC Manage Standalone Veeam Agents? not managed by a VBR?
Best regards,
Julien,
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27368
- Liked: 2799 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Maybe you can work around this by using one of these options: back up when a backup repository is available (for example only at the local network) or even limit backup traffic to specific Wifi networks.Jneau wrote:Clearly, at the start of the workstation, when the veeam agent detects a gateway internet ip address for example 192.168.2.254 then it performs its backup, if not, the backup is not executed.
Yes, it can deploy, update these agents as well as push backup policies and manage backup jobs remotely.Jneau wrote:Can VAC Manage Standalone Veeam Agents? not managed by a VBR?
-
- Enthusiast
- Posts: 30
- Liked: 1 time
- Joined: Jan 24, 2011 12:20 pm
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Hi,
The "back up when a backup repository is available" option is used and functional and I do not need to use PShell commands. So I do not need a VAC. My agents are properly managed by the Veeam server.
The programming options troubled me from the start.
After having tested several scenarios, from the wifi network no backup, to the connection of the post from a specific LAN subnet backup is running.
Successful!!
Thank you all and have a nice day,
Julien,
The "back up when a backup repository is available" option is used and functional and I do not need to use PShell commands. So I do not need a VAC. My agents are properly managed by the Veeam server.
The programming options troubled me from the start.
After having tested several scenarios, from the wifi network no backup, to the connection of the post from a specific LAN subnet backup is running.
Successful!!
Thank you all and have a nice day,
Julien,
-
- VP, Product Management
- Posts: 27368
- Liked: 2799 times
- Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
- Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
- Contact:
Re: Execute Veeam Agent backup with command line
Ok, glad that a solution with the backup repository presence did a trick for you!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests