Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby cmdrriker » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:42 pm

I'd like to move an existing Veeam database from a locally installed sql server (sql is currently installed on the same server as Veeam) to a remote dedicated sql server. We are consolidating all of our standalone application sql instances on to one dedicated sql server. I know how to do a database backup and restore in sql, so my question is not how to move an sql database. What I don't see is a configuration option in Veeam to change where it should look for it's database. So, if I want to move the database only, not the Veeam installation itself, how do I change the database location in the Veeam application?


A registry edit is fine with me if there's not an option in the interface to do this. If a registry edit is the only way to do this, then specific information on the keys and values that need to modified would be appreciated.
cmdrriker
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:59 am
Full Name: Will Smith

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:09 pm

Hello Will, just edit SQL connection settings on the backup server with the registry keys below:

Code: Select all
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlServerName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlInstanceName
HKLM\Software\VeeaM\Veeam Backup and Replication\SqlDatabaseName

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19770
Liked: 1120 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:07 pm

I just tried this and wasn't able to get the Veeam service to start. Is there anything else to it?
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:29 pm

Instructions above are for v4, and may not work for v5. I will ask dev/QC to find out and test the procedure that would works for v5. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21503
Liked: 2379 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Bunce » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:32 am

does the service account running veeam have sufficient permissions on the sql server to access the db?
Bunce
Expert
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Full Name: Andrew

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:13 pm

Yes it does - using an ODBC might make things easier in a future version?
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:16 pm

Frankly speaking, this operation is too uncommon to justify investing development resources and touching core architecture components... having documented and tested procedure available should do it.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21503
Liked: 2379 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:20 pm

any luck on getting the procedure?
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:44 pm

I did email both dev and QC manager asking for help on this, have not heard back yet... and forgot to ping today... as always, your best bet would be to go through support with requests like this. Anything that came to dev/QC through support will never be forgotten or ignored, because support staff will sit on them until the issue is resolved or answer is provided :D
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21503
Liked: 2379 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:43 pm

Just an Update - I heard back from support. They said the only way you can point Veeam to a different SQL Server / DB you have to uninstall and reinstall and pick the new server on reinstall.

I would have expected at least a registry edit to make the change as in previous versions.
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:46 pm

What is your support case number, I just want to make sure support engineer understood what you wanted to do. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21503
Liked: 2379 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:52 pm

ID#544622

Thanks!!
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Bunce » Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:26 pm

That can't be right. One of the commonly posted methods on handling DR for the Veeam Server involves replicating the SQL database manually to the DR site.

This requires redirecting the Veeam server to the new SQL server. We use this as do many others, and is recommended by Veeam staff given there are currently no built in alternaves.

Are you sure you changed those keys correctly? If you've got a spare server, try a fresh install to the new SQL Server and compare the reg keys to what you are currently using.

There may even be a key which differentiates between local and external databases.. I know there's an additional key that needs to be changed if you are conneting to the DB from a different Veeam server
Bunce
Expert
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:56 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Full Name: Andrew

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby lobo519 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:45 pm

OK - support confirmed that these keys were the correct ones to change even with Version 5. Where I got caught :( - I filled in the "SQLInstanceName". with this specified I could not start the Veeam Backup service. Leaving it blank did the trick!
lobo519
Expert
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Re: Move Veeam database only to another sql server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:50 pm

Glad to hear it all works fine now! Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21503
Liked: 2379 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Next

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: benj00, BradI, Google [Bot], souperstar and 84 guests