Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24439
Liked: 3409 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by Gostev » Apr 25, 2017 10:26 pm

Good point re: pure Linux environments.

Fred_vBrain
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 6:41 am
Full Name: Manfred Hofer
Location: Austria
Contact:

[MERGED] [Feature Request] Proxy Server components for Linux

Post by Fred_vBrain » Aug 29, 2017 2:29 pm 3 people like this post

Hi all,

I think this request is not new but I think we need to stress it again. I was recently at one of my TAM customers site and we discussed with the backup team proxy server placement for their cluster.
They are using cluster specific to OS versions, e.g. Linux Cluster for all their RHEL or Windows Cluster for all their Windows VMs. If we would place a proxy in the Linux cluster the customer needs to license all the hosts with windows just for 1-2 proxy VMs. This would be a really good use case for having the proxy components as Linux binaries or as preconfigured linux appliance.

Currently only speaking for proxy components but in the near future it should also be possible to have a VBR appliance. I can image because of the used framework, SDK whatever this could be the most challenging part.

Cheers,
Fred
Fred | vBrain.info | @Fred_vBrain

VCAP-DCA/DCD/CIA/CID/DTA/DTD, VCIX-NV, VCIX6-DCV/DTM/NV/CMA, VMCE v7-v9, vExpert 2014-18, vExpert NSX 2016-17, Cisco Champion 2015-18, Veeam Vanguard 2016, Dell EMC Elect 2017

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by nitramd » Aug 31, 2017 4:38 pm

+1 for Linux as a proxy

+! for VBR Linux appliance

Doc
Service Provider
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 28, 2017 8:08 am
Full Name: Riccardo Balboni
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by Doc » Sep 06, 2017 3:05 pm

+2 for Linux as a proxy

+2 for VBR Linux appliance

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by adapterer » Oct 12, 2017 5:05 am

I am just thinking ahead but how will this work with the upcoming CDP/IO filter feature in V10? Is the proxy role still required when there are no VM snapshots?

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5684
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by dellock6 » Oct 12, 2017 6:00 am

We can't share too many details yet but, even if the proxy is not needed anymore to read the freezed vmdk from a datastore, data still needs to be read at source and written at target, otherwise you would just need VAIO to do the replication without any other software ;) So, there will be still be a "proxy", with a slightly different role.
Also, VAIO framework has two allowed use cases for now, which are caching and replication, so you would still need the good old proxies for backups.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by adapterer » Oct 12, 2017 6:34 am

Cool, maybe there exists an opportunity for a Linux VAIO proxy since really it's just grabbing changed data blocks from the IO filter and hurling them to target proxy :)

dellock6
Veeam Software
Posts: 5684
Liked: 1604 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2009 3:39 pm
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca
Location: Varese, Italy
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by dellock6 » Oct 16, 2017 6:14 am

If you look at VAIO architecture, or once you'll see our implementation, I'm pretty sure you will figure out that is not really "just" grabbing data. But I'm sure you already know it, and just trying to tell us that we should do the linux proxy because "it's easy" :D
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2019
Veeam VMCE #1

adapterer
Expert
Posts: 224
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Oct 12, 2015 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by adapterer » Oct 16, 2017 6:19 am

Armchair software architect here yes ;)

ashleyw
Service Provider
Posts: 154
Liked: 20 times
Joined: Oct 28, 2010 10:55 pm
Full Name: Ashley Watson
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam components under Linux as an appliance?

Post by ashleyw » Oct 31, 2017 1:59 am

Hi,

For a long time now we have been running Windows for our Veeam components to backup our farms.
Due to the ever increasing changes to the way Windows 2016 now has to be licensed to all cores of the underlying host (and increasing costs), is it possible to resurrect discussions about Veeam B&R allowing for the Veeam transport layer to be able to be deployed as a Linux based appliance.

We switched to the vcentre appliance model in Vpshere 6.5 at launch time and have never looked back - it has dramatically simplified management of our farm.
By the same token it would be great if the Veeam components could be deployed as Linux based appliances using PostgreSQL as the DB engine.

We are obviously aware that we currently need to run data centre licenses to license all OS's running on the physical tin (as we are running all Veeam layer virtualised).

cheers
Ashley

john.brodhurst
Influencer
Posts: 22
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 11, 2012 12:16 pm
Full Name: John Brodhurst
Location: Canterbury, UK
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by john.brodhurst » Nov 03, 2017 9:45 am

Another "me too" for this FR. An OVA proxy would tick so many boxes for my clients. I can't believe this topic started in the 6.x era and still hasn't been resolved and it's nearly 10.x time!

SBarrett847
Service Provider
Posts: 303
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett
Contact:

Re: Run time linux proxy server

Post by SBarrett847 » Nov 06, 2017 9:51 am

Just going to add my Voice here too - I've run into a situation recently where I have to have a remote backup proxy and a Linux Proxy would be ideal.

Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 526
Liked: 212 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by Cragdoo » Nov 09, 2017 10:41 am 5 people like this post

Yesterday I noticed a very interesting tweet pop up in my time line, the tweet was by Michael Cade (Global Technologist), who is currently attending NEXTConf in Nice. For those who may have missed the tweet here's the link https://twitter.com/MichaelCade1/status ... 6037042178

now what got me curious was the wording
A sneak peak of how that new Prism "like" interface will look
Image

Not Prism interface ...but Prism like. To me this meant a new Veeam interface, and looking at the interface a nice shiny new HTML one at that. I asked Michael to clarify if this was a new Veeam dashboard or a new section of Prism. His reply was an unexpected one

https://twitter.com/MichaelCade1/status ... 6597282818
This is a standalone Veeam appliance that will run within the AHV cluster and is presented via a Web interface
WOAH ... a Veeam Linux appliance with its own Web interface.


1) people have been asking about appliances for a while now, so are Veeam starting to take notice. Things like the VMware move to a Photon appliance for vCenter is a good thing, so why not Veeam?
2) people get to save money by *not* needing Windows licenses to run VBR servers
3) more secure (less patching....but that's up for debate)
4) the illusive HTML management console so many people ask for.

This got me very excited and my mind started turning over possibilities. Now it was pointed out this is very much v1.0 but still got me thinking about future possibilities, so while I appreciate this is very much v1.0 ...how can we *not* get excited by a new Veeam product/technology.

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by nitramd » Nov 09, 2017 2:38 pm

Thanks for sharing.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24439
Liked: 3409 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by Gostev » Nov 09, 2017 5:37 pm 1 person likes this post

Yeah... #3 is very debatable indeed, based on the last couple of years ;)

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 597
Liked: 139 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Nov 13, 2017 3:08 am 1 person likes this post

Agree with Anton there on point #3 ...you need to look only at VMware's VCSA. They have now got a out of band OS patching program for that appliance that goes hand in hand with standard vCenter patch releases...even for PhotonOS.

Don't get me wrong, I love a good appliance, but there is a difference between a pre packaged OVA with bits installed on a standard OS vs a cut down lean appliance with a purpose built minimal OS with the bits integrated.
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

bpayne
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jan 20, 2015 2:07 pm
Full Name: Brandon Payne
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by bpayne » Nov 13, 2017 4:11 pm 1 person likes this post

This is a fantastic idea and I've been suggesting this to Veeam's customer feedback program for 2 years now (Veeam linux appliance). I'm glad to see there is movement on this topic.

Please look at building an Active/Standby setup to the appliance as well.

dkvello
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Dag Kvello
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by dkvello » Nov 13, 2017 4:39 pm 1 person likes this post

I'm awaiting the Photon 2.x based Veeam appliances for Management, Proxy and Repository. Or maybe not repository unless they can get ReFS features and speed to match 2016 ReFS)

But management should be there already, together with IPV6... :P

daniel.farrelly
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Feb 29, 2016 5:16 pm
Full Name: Daniel Farrelly
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by daniel.farrelly » Nov 13, 2017 5:05 pm

Should we be concerned the last time a backup ran was two months ago?

bdufour
Expert
Posts: 198
Liked: 29 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by bdufour » Nov 13, 2017 6:02 pm 1 person likes this post

the VCSA (vcenter appliance) has its own issues. i speak from experience - it's well known that restarting it or just doing simple functions in the GUI can cause the postgresql DB to fail. Not sure if it's completely resolved in the latest build, but i've had it fail on me with older builds.....the most common, fastest, and easiest 'fix' is just to redeploy the appliance. but if you redeploy a new appliance - veeam will see a new VCSA and that will cause issues with your jobs and the veeam DB bc of the unique identifiers. I've actually figured out a way around that without having to edit the veeam DB. you just need to create a cname record in DNS pointing to the old server name. without doing that, you would have to re-replicate and re-backup all VMs upon connecting veeam to the new VCSA. not the end of the world with backups over the LAN, but there was no way we could have re-replicated all of our VMS over the WAN. some may think, 'well - why not just restore a back up rather than redeploying?' according to my judgment - you would be restoring a faulty appliance to have the issue arise again. so i just redeployed to the latest build in hopes that the issue is resolved.
MORAL of the story is twofold i think - wait until all of the kinks and such are worked out before jumping on board (goes without saying, bc that's pretty obvious), and also consider using an diff external DB other than postgresql....

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24439
Liked: 3409 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by Gostev » Nov 13, 2017 7:35 pm 3 people like this post

daniel.farrelly wrote:Should we be concerned the last time a backup ran was two months ago?
Not if your RPO is 3 months ;)

kawiMTF
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 119
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2015 10:03 am
Full Name: Karl Widmer
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by kawiMTF » Nov 14, 2017 7:06 am 5 people like this post

I'm still dreaming about Linux VMs which can be deployed with proxy role. That would be a great thing. It would also help save money because you don't need a Windows license for a VM which is only working during backup (if proxy role is not on a production VM). This new Prism like interface looks nice. Looking forward to the next great Veeam release ;)
Best regards,
Karl

-----------------------
Veeam Platinum Partner
Veeam Vanguard / VMCE v9 / VMTSP v9 / VMSP v9
vExpert / VCA6-DVC / VCA5-DVC / VCA5-Cloud
MCP / MCSA 2012
Personal blog: https://www.driftar.ch
Twitter: @widmerkarl

SBarrett847
Service Provider
Posts: 303
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Feb 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Full Name: Stephen Barrett
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by SBarrett847 » Nov 14, 2017 9:44 am

Considering that the network proxy is Linux based I'm surprised we don't have a Linux backup proxy yet - would be very useful for me, to have in cases where cloud connect isn't suitable.

knalbone
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 25
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2016 6:39 pm
Full Name: Ken Nalbone
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by knalbone » Nov 14, 2017 1:22 pm 1 person likes this post

+1 for a Linux backup proxy. I think that would be the single most useful appliance Veeam could develop.
VMCE 9

Didi7
Expert
Posts: 329
Liked: 29 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by Didi7 » Nov 15, 2017 6:26 am

+1 for a Linux backup proxy, really nice idea
Using the most recent Veeam B&R in 18 different environments now and counting!

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 184
Liked: 43 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by nitramd » Nov 15, 2017 2:40 pm

Another +1 for a Linux backup proxy.

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by Delo123 » Nov 16, 2017 8:23 am 3 people like this post

Please don't remove the "windows application", ever. Please please please no HTML5 stuff as main application.

totoche
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 11, 2010 8:39 am
Full Name: Totoche
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by totoche » Nov 20, 2017 6:11 am

+1 for a Linux proxy backup and Wan accelerator.
because the cost of licensing is limiting. Appliance of course

colossus610
Service Provider
Posts: 6
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2015 8:05 pm
Full Name: Bryan Mroch
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by colossus610 » Nov 20, 2017 6:52 am 3 people like this post

Delo123 wrote:Please don't remove the "windows application", ever. Please please please no HTML5 stuff as main application.
Better than Flash...*ahem* looks sideways at the other product we all know did THAT to us...')

mcz
Expert
Posts: 271
Liked: 50 times
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: Veeam Linux Appliance

Post by mcz » Nov 20, 2017 8:54 am

Many people here and out there are requesting linux proxies and all that has been said from veeam side was "We would like but there are some technical limitations which make it impossible for using linux as proxy appliance".

Ok, good to know but I'm curious to hear what the limitations are... From a customer's point of view, the roles of a proxy are:

- reading data from disks
- sending data over network to repository
- connecting with os's for script execution, vss, etc.

I think the first two arguments could also be managed by linux, probably the last one would be more tricky or even impossible. Are my assumptions right or is it more about incompatibilities with file systems and such things?

I know that we are here talking about technical details which could be top secret for veeam and I understand that veeam tries to hide those information, but probably there is a way to give us here a better understanding why only windows can do the job without giving too much information. Sometimes you have discussions about licensing and costs and then you should be able to argue why only windows can do the job...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kenji Kashiwa, popjls and 32 guests