Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Post Reply
wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 29, 2018 10:11 am

Hi all,

I try to create a Scale-Out Repository with 2 extents :
- 1st extent (Repository 1) is used actually as remotely target for backup copy job VMs & backup copy job for Windows Agent
- 2nd extent (Repository 2) is newer and never used, it will be a member of Scale-out repository with "Repository 1", to store backup copy jobs.

When I want to create Scale-out repository, I have an error :

Unable to add extent "Remote - Repository backups VM" because it serves as the target for one or more job types which are not supported by a scale-out backup repository
Image

This job (Backup Copy Job - SVBRPRDFILE4007) is a Backup copy job of physical server, backup with Windows Agent for Windows (Free edition) in v2.0.0.700
Image

I have read the user guide that explain the limitations of Scale-Out feature and i don't see what can be the problem.

More informations :
All backup environment is in Windows Server 2016
Deduplication Windows feature is installed on 2 extents.
Job is disable when I try to create Scale-out repository
I have disable WAN accelerator in the job, I use "Direct" Data Transfer
I have read this post : microsoft-hyper-v-f25/wan-accelerator-s ... 44551.html, not solve the issue.
I have read this other post : veeam-backup-replication-f2/cannot-add- ... 53053.html, not solve the issue too.

If you have any idea to solve my problem do not hesitate, otherwise I'll open a ticket.

Maxime.

Alex Uryumtsev
Enthusiast
Posts: 51
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Oct 29, 2018 9:56 am
Full Name: Alexander Uryumtsev
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by Alex Uryumtsev » Nov 29, 2018 11:26 am

Hi Maxime,

I would recommend you to contact support team, because the root cause is not obvious in your case, since the backup copy job is supported by Scale-out Backup Repository.

Then after opening the case with our support team, please provide me your ticket number, so I can check your progress.

If you have any questions left, don't hesitate to ask.

BR,
Alex

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 970
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wishr » Nov 29, 2018 1:05 pm

Hi Maxime,

Welcome to Veeam Community Forums and thanks for posting.

A couple of questions for you:
1. Which B&R version do you use?
2. How the backup was done (using Standalone Free Agent or Free Agent Managed by B&R server)?

Thanks

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 29, 2018 1:32 pm

Thanks for your reply,

@Alex Uryumtsev :
I opened a case 03306075

@wishr :
1. I used VBR 9.5.0.1922
2. Free Agent managed by B&R Server

Maxime.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10306
Liked: 836 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by Dima P. » Nov 29, 2018 1:56 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi Maxime.

It's a know issue that should be fixed in upcoming Update 4. As a workaround try to change the target for your backup copy job to another repository, then create Scale-Out backup repository and then re target the backup copy job to the newly created Scale-Out. Please let us know how it goes. Thanks!

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 29, 2018 2:58 pm

@Dima P.

Thank you for the clarification. What is the release date for U4?

I did what you asked me, it works, however, I can not point my backup copy job to the new target (scale-out repository), I have the following error:
Move all backup files to the new backup repository first
Image

1. I have create a temporary repository and move all backup files, change the backup repository of my backup copy job, create Scale-out backup
2. I have move all backups files in the old repository that is a member of Scale-out now
3. I have rescan the Scale-out repository (but now, i cannot rescan the repository)
Image

I think it's just a problem to populate the database of Scale-out backup to say it, now backups files are here, but how to do it ?

Maxime.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 970
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wishr » Nov 29, 2018 3:07 pm

Hi Maxime,

Could you please take a look at this KB and let us know the result?

As about U4 release, unfortunately, we are not able to comment on the ETA, but I can probably mention that it will be available soon.

Regards,
Fedor

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 29, 2018 3:18 pm

@wishr

It doesn't work, I have the same error message that the original post :

Unable to add extent "Backup Repository 1" because it serves as the target for one or more job types which are not supported by a scale-out backup repository
Image

:(

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 970
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wishr » Nov 29, 2018 3:51 pm

Maxime,

Could you please try the following:
1. Move the backup files to a temporary location (3rd repository, separated from the first two). Make sure that all the related VIB, VBK, and VBM files are moved;
2. Point your Backup Copy job to the backup files in the new location;
3. Then create SOBR using the first two repositories;
4. Make a rescan - notice if it has completed or not (if not, please revert back and add one additional rescan between the steps 1 and 2);
5. Then move the files to SOBR (to a preferred extent);
6. Make a rescan;
7. Manually point your Backup Copy job to your backup files on SOBR.

And please keep us posted.

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 29, 2018 4:59 pm

Thank you @wishr for your time but it doesn't work ... :(

1. I moved backup file to newer location (all files VIB, VBK and VBM are moved)
2. I rescan the newer repository (backup files are added and i can map manually backup files in my job)

Image
Image


3. I make a rescan to my SOBR (1 skipped file, it's normal because another job - work fine - is in the SOBR)
4. I moved backup file from simple repository to SOBR
5. I make a rescan of my SOBR and 2 skipped rather than 1 add and 1 skipped.

Image


6. So, I can not manually map backup files to my backyp copy job because it does not see its

I don't understand ! :( Even the bypass method would not work?

The engineer on your support team who processes the case I opened is currently analyzing the logs.

Maxime.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 970
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wishr » Nov 29, 2018 5:10 pm

Maxime,

Thank you for your efforts.

That's strange. In this case, I would recommend you to keep working with our support team, maybe there is some unknown underlying aspect beyond our current vision.

We'll keep an eye on your support case and will be glad to assist when necessary.

BR,
Fedor

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18028
Liked: 1532 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by foggy » Nov 29, 2018 6:03 pm

Try to remove corresponding backups from configuration prior to SOBR rescan.

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 30, 2018 12:55 pm

Hi @foggy,

I have try to remove the backup from configuration before rescan and it's the same way.

I have try another way to identify if the problem concern member of SOBR or concern the backup job :
I have copy the tree folder of my backup copy job with just the .vbm file inside (not .vbk , .vib), and when i rescan the SOBR, we can see 2 jobs are skipped on my 2 SOBR members. Previously, I put my backup files into the same SOBR member and it skipped 2 backups files also.
Image

What can be concluded? The problem is related to the backup copy job from Veeeam Agent for Windows ?

I have to talk by phone this afternoon with support engineer Veeam.

I will keep you informed.

Maxime.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 970
Liked: 101 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wishr » Nov 30, 2018 1:18 pm

Hi Maxime,

Thank you for additional information. We are keeping an eye on the support case status. Let's see what we'll get during the session with our support representative and further analysis.

Regards,
Fedor

wiz2k10
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 6:56 pm
Full Name: Maxime
Contact:

Re: Scale-out repository : unable to add extent

Post by wiz2k10 » Nov 30, 2018 3:40 pm 2 people like this post

Hi all,

A special thanks to @Claudiu at Veeam support team, to resolve my problem.

Claudiu realized these actions :
1. Remove from backup configuration
2. Move backup files to one member of SOBR
3. Remove member of SOBR (which we moved backup files step 2) without backup evacuation

Image

4. Rescan this member
5. Add this member to SOBR
6. Map manually the new SOBR repository and backup files in the backup copy job

That's all...

He confirm me also that should be fixed in U4, coming soon...

Thanks all for your help !

Maxime.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Easy-Works, Google [Bot], paul.timson and 79 guests