Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 179
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Moebius » 1 person likes this post

Ok, I'm still working with the Support, but this is what we've found so far.

Support said:
Before v8 we always used SYSTEM account to perform operations in SQL Server.
But starting from v8, we're impersonating under account specified under "Guest processing".
I guess there have been good reasons to make such a change, but this can potentially have an impact on some managed systems (as it had in our case) and should have been pointed out in capital letters in the release notes IMHO. But anyway.

It turned out that in our case the account specified under "Guest processing", while being a local admin on all vms, had been denied the right to log on interactively for security reasons. In this case any backup with guest processing enabled throws the warning:
"Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate SQL logs
Failed to logon user [<domain>\<user>]
Win32 error:Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.
Code: 1385"

The Windows Security Event log shows 3 times for each backup run the event 4625 ("An account failed to log on") with Logon Type 2 (interactive).

Once granted the account the right to log on interactively, all the warnings disappeared.

Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 179
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Moebius »

I forgot to add that all the above also happens when the vm is not a SQL server, and even when there are no SQL components at all installed on the vm.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Lucio, reasons for changing the impersonation parameters in v8 are explained here. However, the fact that the issue is observed on VMs with no SQL/Exchange Server installed is still under investigation.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Seems the issue was finally tracked down and will be addressed in Patch 2.

rbushe
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 21, 2015 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by rbushe »

foggy wrote:Seems the issue was finally tracked down and will be addressed in Patch 2.
thanks for the update, is there any sort of ETA or timeframe for this patch(beta or official)?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19074
Liked: 1948 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by veremin »

No ETA at the moment.

Franco13
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 16, 2010 1:47 pm
Full Name: Franco Weichel
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Franco13 »

Same here.
No SQL Server on VM.
With Veeam 7 no problem, with Veeam 8: Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs....

Hope Patch 2 will fix it.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19074
Liked: 1948 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by veremin »

According to the plan, it should be. So, stay tuned.

Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
Posts: 95
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Alan_ORiordan »

I also experienced this message after my initial seed of my SQL Server to the DR site:

08/03/2015 01:25:02 :: Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [192.168.x.xxx].
RPC error:There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper.
Code: 1753

I am also running V8 Patch 1, backups still seem to work but perhaps that is because I am not truncating logs during the backup?

However I also have COPY ONLY set in the replication job settings so why the difference between the backup job and the replication job?

Should I open a support case for this?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25503
Liked: 2294 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Yes, with all technical issues it's better to open a support case and verify job configuration and check the debug logs.

Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
Posts: 95
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Alan_ORiordan » 1 person likes this post

Support case 00826465 opened

Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
Posts: 95
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Alan_ORiordan »

Case results:

Case # 00826465

I spoke to Igor Kassihin, who advised during a WebEx session that the Warning is a UI bug only in the latest release. I was advised simply to continue the replication schedule

masonit
Service Provider
Posts: 291
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by masonit »

Hi

We have the same issue. A lot of vms complain even though they don't have SQL installed:

Code: Select all

2015-03-16 20:36:50 :: Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate SQL logs
Failed to logon user [xxxx\xxxx]
Win32 error:Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.
 Code: 1326 
Should I contact support or just wait for patch 2?

\Masonit

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Magnus, you can just wait for the patch, it should fix the issue for you.

ortoscale
Service Provider
Posts: 230
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by ortoscale »

I'm having same issue. I guess I should wait for patch.

PariPari
Expert
Posts: 111
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 26, 2014 2:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by PariPari »

Having this issue on several customer sites with vms with no sql or exchange whatsoever installed. Another reason to look forward to patch 2 :-)

Tomsyr
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 01, 2014 3:39 pm
Full Name: Tom Conklin
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by Tomsyr »

Hi everyone,
I just discovered the same issue on a brand new install of Veeam and the server that was backed up.
"4/9/2015 4:14:40 AM :: Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: Cannot finish snapshot: no job found. "

This new server does not have exchange on it - it's a new file and print server. This is the very first backup, and the only backup so far at this site, so the log file I submitted is pretty small ;)
Support ticket is:
00874124

I did a test restore of a file so the backup itself is good, but this should help identify the phantom exchange error.
Tom

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Thanks for submitting a case, Tom, much appreciated. Please apply the next update once it is available and verify whether the issue goes away.

jim.montgomery
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 2:52 pm
Full Name: Jim Montgomery
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by jim.montgomery »

Has anyone resolved this issue for Veeam 8?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Jim, the issue is addressed in the update coming later this month.

jim.montgomery
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 06, 2015 2:52 pm
Full Name: Jim Montgomery
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by jim.montgomery »

Foggy, thanks for the quick response. So it can be ignored for now then?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Meanwhile you can contact support to make sure you're experiencing the same behavior.

yamy125
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2013 1:30 am
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by yamy125 »

Still having this issue with v8 Update 2 installed for reference.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Tom, could you please describe the issue in more detail as there are actually several issues regarding logs truncation being discussed in this and a couple of adjacent threads? Have you contacted support already?

yamy125
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 06, 2013 1:30 am
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by yamy125 »

Hi Foggy,

I've got the job logged, but strange thing is it ran OK again overnight. I was getting repeat warnings as per below on retries yesterday:

"Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [*.*.*.*].
RPC error:There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper.
Code: 1753"

Seems to have gone OK overnight with scheduled runs, so I'm just going to see if things settle down a bit now. I've advised the Veeam rep in job of overnight results.

Cheers,

Tom

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by alanbolte »

"There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper"
In my experience that tends to mean that the in-guest helper process is no longer running as expected at truncation time; such as if that process crashes for some reason, or if the VM being backed up reboots.

init-s
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2014 11:42 am
Full Name: Andrea Cerrito
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by init-s »

I can confirm I started to have this issue after Update 2.
Ticket opened 00882225.

Anyway, I'm waiting for an update from 7 May.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20581
Liked: 1984 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by foggy »

Andrea, I can see that you've just been contacted by your engineer and arranging a webex, so please kindly keep us posted on how investigation goes. Thanks.

init-s
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2014 11:42 am
Full Name: Andrea Cerrito
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by init-s »

Hi foggy,

the engineer verified the problem and asked me to collect some more logs.
The problem occurr on every SQL Server (even with Windows Internal Database).
I'll update as soon as possibile.

briggs
Enthusiast
Posts: 74
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2013 11:01 am
Full Name: Alan Thompson
Contact:

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Post by briggs »

I'm having this issue now too. Updated to patch 2, no difference. Am I to open a support case also?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tsightler and 48 guests