Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Availability for the Always-On Enterprise

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Moebius » Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:54 am 1 person likes this post

Ok, I'm still working with the Support, but this is what we've found so far.

Support said:
Before v8 we always used SYSTEM account to perform operations in SQL Server.
But starting from v8, we're impersonating under account specified under "Guest processing".


I guess there have been good reasons to make such a change, but this can potentially have an impact on some managed systems (as it had in our case) and should have been pointed out in capital letters in the release notes IMHO. But anyway.

It turned out that in our case the account specified under "Guest processing", while being a local admin on all vms, had been denied the right to log on interactively for security reasons. In this case any backup with guest processing enabled throws the warning:
"Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate SQL logs
Failed to logon user [<domain>\<user>]
Win32 error:Logon failure: the user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.
Code: 1385"

The Windows Security Event log shows 3 times for each backup run the event 4625 ("An account failed to log on") with Logon Type 2 (interactive).

Once granted the account the right to log on interactively, all the warnings disappeared.
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Moebius » Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:24 am

I forgot to add that all the above also happens when the vm is not a SQL server, and even when there are no SQL components at all installed on the vm.
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:48 pm
Location: Reggio Emilia, Italy
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 02, 2015 1:45 pm

Lucio, reasons for changing the impersonation parameters in v8 are explained here. However, the fact that the issue is observed on VMs with no SQL/Exchange Server installed is still under investigation.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:17 pm 1 person likes this post

Seems the issue was finally tracked down and will be addressed in Patch 2.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby rbushe » Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:26 pm

foggy wrote:Seems the issue was finally tracked down and will be addressed in Patch 2.


thanks for the update, is there any sort of ETA or timeframe for this patch(beta or official)?
rbushe
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:55 pm

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:28 am

No ETA at the moment.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13125
Liked: 954 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Franco13 » Thu Feb 12, 2015 8:13 am

Same here.
No SQL Server on VM.
With Veeam 7 no problem, with Veeam 8: Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs....

Hope Patch 2 will fix it.
Franco13
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:47 pm
Full Name: Franco Weichel

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Feb 12, 2015 10:39 am

According to the plan, it should be. So, stay tuned.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13125
Liked: 954 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:09 am

I also experienced this message after my initial seed of my SQL Server to the DR site:

08/03/2015 01:25:02 :: Unable to truncate Exchange transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [192.168.x.xxx].
RPC error:There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper.
Code: 1753

I am also running V8 Patch 1, backups still seem to work but perhaps that is because I am not truncating logs during the backup?

However I also have COPY ONLY set in the replication job settings so why the difference between the backup job and the replication job?

Should I open a support case for this?
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:23 am

Yes, with all technical issues it's better to open a support case and verify job configuration and check the debug logs.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19474
Liked: 1092 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:31 am 1 person likes this post

Support case 00826465 opened
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby Alan_ORiordan » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:24 pm

Case results:

Case # 00826465

I spoke to Igor Kassihin, who advised during a WebEx session that the Warning is a UI bug only in the latest release. I was advised simply to continue the replication schedule
Alan_ORiordan
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 88
Liked: 17 times
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:23 am
Full Name: Alan ORiordan

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby masonit » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:42 am

Hi

We have the same issue. A lot of vms complain even though they don't have SQL installed:
Code: Select all
2015-03-16 20:36:50 :: Unable to truncate SQL server transaction logs. Details: Failed to process 'TruncateSQLLog' command.
Failed to truncate SQL logs
Failed to logon user [xxxx\xxxx]
Win32 error:Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.
 Code: 1326

Should I contact support or just wait for patch 2?

\Masonit
masonit
Service Provider
 
Posts: 141
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:30 pm
Full Name: Magnus Andersson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:32 am

Magnus, you can just wait for the patch, it should fix the issue for you.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14601
Liked: 1064 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Unable to truncate transaction logs.

Veeam Logoby bc2011 » Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:33 am

I'm having same issue. I guess I should wait for patch.
bc2011
Service Provider
 
Posts: 165
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga

PreviousNext

Return to Veeam Backup & Replication



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: foggy, v.Eremin and 57 guests