Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
JPMS
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Nov 02, 2019 6:19 pm
Full Name: Jason
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by JPMS »

+1 from me too.

When we remove VMs from a backup, Surebackup keeps testing them while a historical backup of the VM remains in the repo, in our case, for a year.

Lots of Surebackup testing of VMs that we don't want tested!

Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1596
Liked: 368 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Thanks for all the feedback. Every vote counts.
/Cheers!

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 195
Liked: 38 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by NightBird »

+1 for VM exclusions 👍🏻

mikeely
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by mikeely »

+1 (gazillion) for VM exclusions
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 299
Liked: 111 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Mildur »

+1 for VM exclusions

FrancWest
Expert
Posts: 218
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Sep 17, 2017 3:20 am
Full Name: Franc
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by FrancWest »

+1 for VM exclusions.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 11846
Liked: 1050 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Dima P. » 2 people like this post

Hello folks,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We will discuss this improvement with RnD folks (it's already marked as a very demanded improvement request). Cheers!

gosnells
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2012 4:28 am
Full Name: Mike Smith
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by gosnells »

+1 for VM exclusions.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 169
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by crackocain »

I'm try right now enable SureBackup in my client and i'm sick of try enable and tell customer over and over again.

Customers use PerVM, They bought Enterprise or Enterprise Plus for this. Infact there are only customers who have purchased Enterprise for this feature. Because job automation is critical after 50 VM's. One single daily backup job, added cluster. Right now i'm think "how am i test critical 100 of 150 virtual machines in SATA disks.
So here my options.
1- Create 100 application group and create 100 surebackup jobs. This way SATA disk speed is enough. VM's open one by one.
2- Delete single backup job and create 150 backup jobs. After that add 100 backup job to one surebackup job. (mismatch to Enterprise or Enterprise Plus feature, I guess I can't be the only one to see the illogicality here.)
3- Create 10 application group and create 10 surebackup job for load balancing. 10 VM maybe open in same time in SATA disks. Not open? Try for 5 VM, not open? 3 VM etc etc.

So customers don't want (not we, especially customers want this) hundreds of surebackup jobs or application group. Because we enable this feature at first but customers not want to unnecessary leg work. It is not designed to be user friendly. We convince the customer about Surebackup is critical for the customer but in PoC customer see job management in Surebackup they don't use it or buy Standart license. Both situation is Veeam loss, not customer. (because they don't like it)

I'm really hard to understand why we wait 8 year about this feature? Actually I complaint below topic. I'm pretty sure I'm the only one complaint about this problem, open case and Veeam solved 5 months. Yeah write latency is much critical compare this topic. But in this topic everyone begging about this feature.

vmware-vsphere-f24/ibm-storage-snapshot ... ml#p379764

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 1077
Liked: 240 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Alec King » 3 people like this post

Hello,
As I mentioned earlier in this thread - Veeam Availability Orchestrator is the tool to solve this. With VAO you can create VM groups from any criteria you want - VAO plans are not based on VBR jobs, you can use vSphere tags, VM names, datastore, etc.
And in VAO you can test your plan VMs with much more flexibility than SureBackup jobs. There are many features for VAO DataLabs that are not even in VBR (such as re-IP during plan test)
With the new "DR-Pack" licensing for VAO you can get VAO licenses for all VMs at approx 80% discount. I really suggest those who are using a lot of SureBackup/SureReplica should check out VAO!

Samba222
Service Provider
Posts: 46
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jan 18, 2017 11:54 am
Full Name: Ronald
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Samba222 »

+1 for VM exclusions

Hevros
Service Provider
Posts: 26
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 17, 2013 5:09 pm
Full Name: Stephen Seagrave
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Hevros »

+1 for VM exclusions

mikeely
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2016 7:39 pm
Full Name: Mike Ely
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by mikeely »

Alec King wrote: Aug 26, 2020 12:08 pmyou can get VAO licenses for all VMs at approx 80% discount. I really suggest those who are using a lot of SureBackup/SureReplica should check out VAO!
This seems like a very uncomfortable place to make a sales pitch.

+1 for VM Exclusions.
Unless otherwise specified, I am asking about something pertaining to Linux. We use Windows as infrequently as possible, and enthusiastically seek ways to reduce that usage further.

Alec King
VP, Product Management
Posts: 1077
Liked: 240 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Alec King » 3 people like this post

Hi Mike, Sorry if you are uncomfortable, however I am pointing out the solution in Veeam's portfolio that fulfils exactly the functionality everyone is asking for. I think it would be remiss of me not to point that out.

ChrisB1
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 30, 2020 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by ChrisB1 »

+1 for VM exclusions

Stabz
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Apr 07, 2017 7:40 am
Full Name: Philippe DUPUIS
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to exclude VM(s) from SureBackup job?

Post by Stabz »

+1 for VM exclusions :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gary.F and 30 guests