Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby readie » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:02 pm

Sorry Foggy, that was a different (but similar) problem back in Feb this year. And I didn't get any sort of script from support or anything to do ID matching (is this possible?). They just suggested removing old replicas and mapping to the new VMs with new IDs.
I am now ready to move to a new VCenter V6, and really am asking whether the help from support WILL enable me to do ID matching so that no full backups are started (in most cases I don't have the storage space, even with scale-out repositories, to keep restore points AND start new full backups).
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:06 pm

You'd better ask support about this, since the tool they use for ID matching is not applicable to every scenario, as far as I know.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby readie » Tue Apr 19, 2016 2:44 pm

OK will do thanks.
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby readie » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:43 pm 3 people like this post

Support provided a Migration Tool which was simple to use. The main time consuming bit was me manually going through the text file produced, to determine why there were duplicates (usually because we had, in the past, deleted a VM and recreated a new VM with the same name) and other bits and pieces that the migration tool was not happy about. Running the migration tool was otherwise straightforward (once I had found the English instructions to replace the Russian ones which come with the tool! :D ). Backup jobs were simple to tweak and got them running easily. Replication jobs took a little more manual work remapping each VM, but these too are now working fine (apart from the very time consuming 'Calculating Digest for HD . . '. Strangely one VM has a 150GB HD which has taken about an hour, and another has a 100GB HD which took 4 minutes? The latter had failed back to network mode, rather than HotAdd. Should I investigate this further? I don't need to as I'm not planning to move to another VCenter server for some time!!)
Good service from Support. (Case 01767739)
Bob Eadie
Computer Manager at Bedford School, UK (since 1999).
Veeam user since 2009.
readie
Expert
 
Posts: 156
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 9:29 am
Full Name: Bob Eadie

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:42 am

Strangely one VM has a 150GB HD which has taken about an hour, and another has a 100GB HD which took 4 minutes?

You can compare statistics for the both VMs, whether read, processed, transferred metrics are more or less the same or different.

The latter had failed back to network mode, rather than HotAdd. Should I investigate this further?

You can check the recoverability of these VMs just to be sure.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13845
Liked: 1036 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby dlieshout@client.nl » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:07 am

So where can we download that Tool?
dlieshout@client.nl
Service Provider
 
Posts: 42
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:41 pm
Full Name: DaLi

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:02 am

As mentioned in this thread you can get this via support as they will assist you with it since it isn't just a free tool you can use at every case.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1656
Liked: 369 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby Peejay62 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 9:52 am 1 person likes this post

Hi,

I migrated from VC5 to VC6 this weekend. thanks to the tool Veeam supplied for re-mapping the vm id's everything went fine. I found out that it is important to re-map all your jobs if they are container-based. Somehow the container is still referring to the old VC. So, edit job, delete container, re-add container. If you have a copyjob for that backupjob re-define in that copy again the source for the copy (in my case the backupjob) and re-map the copy again in the repository to the copyfile. Do this after the (new) backup has run.
All my jobs where running incremental again as where the copy's. I did some test-restores on various vm's (files and instant) from various restorepoints to see everything is ok, and it is.

Grtz, Peter
Peejay62
Expert
 
Posts: 172
Liked: 22 times
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:40 am
Full Name: Peter Jansen

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:13 am

Peejay62 wrote:I found out that it is important to re-map all your jobs if they are container-based. Somehow the container is still referring to the old VC.

Most likely container ID's have also changed during the migration process - expected in case of a completely new vSphere installation, not an upgrade of the existing one.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Any possibility of fixing the VM-ID problem in futu

Veeam Logoby BlueComp » Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:06 pm

Issue: when removing and re-adding VMs or hosts to vCenter all backup jobs referencing these VMs need the VMs re-adding. I'm aware that this is because vCenter creates a new VM-ID for the VMs and there is 'a reason' why Veam can't track the VMs by name or similar.

Will things always be like this? just had to remove and re-add a host and then realised with a big sigh that I now need to go and fix all my backup jobs...
BlueComp
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:12 pm

Support is able to provide assistance in addressing this issue.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby BlueComp » Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:41 am

Thanks Foggy, but that doesn't answer my question. I can recreate the jobs / remove and re-add the relevant VMs, but I'd like to know if I will always have to do this in future versions?
Or will the tool be built-in in future? Or is it always a case of opening a support case or manually re-mapping? Opening a support case is not ideal as the backups / replications fail until the case is resolved / tool provided. Which means we have to open a top priority ticket...
BlueComp
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:05 am

For now the tool is used only within existing support ticket. And currently there are no plans to change it in the nearest future.

However, how often do VMs in your infrastructure get new MorefIDs assigned?

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13845
Liked: 1036 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby BlueComp » Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:13 pm

Well I don't get to choose when my VMs get new MoRefIDs, in this case there was an issue with one of the hosts (the operation is not allowed in the current connection state of the host) and while troubleshooting this I removed the host and re-added it, then remembered that I had just broken all my Veeam jobs :-( (my fault).

I understand there are technical limitations and that you don't want to issue a tool that could break things for some people. I think my best course of action might be to remove and re-add a host, raise support, get this tool, test it and then I can hang onto the tool for future use?
BlueComp
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:20 pm

Re: Moving VMs to a new virtual center.

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:17 pm

Yes, you could use the tool in any future similar case then, however, I'd consult with support in case of a different scenario that resulted in moref ID changes, since, as far as I know, the tool might not be applicable in some cases.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15377
Liked: 1139 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davecla, Frosty and 1 guest