vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

VMware specific discussions

vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby alexgr » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:11 pm

Good day,
I have a Veeam v9 U1 and a brand-new vCenter Server Appliance. I installed the Veeam Web Plug-in which were successful (at least the enterprise manager shows that the plug-in is installed). I used the vmware SSO admin account for the installation.

The thing: it doesn't show up. In vCSA management (via vsphere web client) I do see the veeam service but it says "not applicable". I couldn't find anything on vCSA and Web-Plugin. Any ideas?
alexgr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:07 pm

Did you try a reinstall already? Please contact support to get assistance with this issue via webex.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1513
Liked: 328 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:56 pm

Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby alexgr » Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:59 pm

Thank you,
I will test it out as soon as I have some time.

regards
alexgr
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am

[MERGED] Veeam 9 - vCenter Appliance and Plugin Registration

Veeam Logoby Khue » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:44 pm

Hey everyone,

I just installed the Veeam plugin to our vCenter Appliance. Everything seemed to install okay from the Backup Enterprise Manager. The manager is showing that the plugin was successfully installed. I am currently in the WebUI and I do not see the Veeam plugin available. I went ahead and restarted the vsphere-client service on the vCenter Appliance and no luck. Any ideas what I am missing?
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:01 am

Please review the thread above for the hint. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby Khue » Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:12 pm

Understood Foggy. Apologies for not finding this using search. My Google-Fu was weak in this case.
Khue
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 60
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby alphinantony » Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:14 pm

I'm facing a similar problem and the steps mentioned in the above mentioned thread didnt solve it.
Vitaliy S. wrote:Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.


Image

Image

could someone help me out, please?

Thanks!
alphinantony
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:06 pm

Please open a support case for further investigation where what went wrong.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Engineer
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1513
Liked: 328 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby alphinantony » Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:59 am 1 person likes this post

The support team were able point out the issue in my backup infra. Since i didnt had a DNS server in my infra, the vCenter (VCSA)was not able to resolve the VBR EM url to download the plugins from EM. So i manually added an entry in the VCSA host file to resolve the EM hostname. Then everything worked perfectly!

I had a similar issue in my second installation (actually in production). But this time i had a DNS server, and so the issue was not with the hostname resolution. This time there was a firewall in between the VCSA and VBR EM, and as per the Veeam documentation (USED PORTS section) the traffic flow happens only from EM to vCenter during the plugin installation. But after checking the firewall logs i found out that the VCSA also initiates traffic to the EM after the plugin install is initiated from VBR EM, and it's being blocked. Also there is no mention of such a traffic flow in the user guide. After allowing that port (9443) VCSA --> EM, the plugin got installed perfectly.

I'm quoting the reply from Support Team
If there is a firewall, it might just block the traffic and installation may fail. Both sides initiate connection. First of all EM connects to vCenter, then vCenter connects to EM.
alphinantony
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Wed May 03, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Antony,

Yep, that's correct, connections needed in a both ways. Thank you for the follow up!
There is a link in UG for the Enterprise manager network connectivity diagram.

Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 389
Liked: 49 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests