Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
alexgr
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am
Contact:

vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alexgr »

Good day,
I have a Veeam v9 U1 and a brand-new vCenter Server Appliance. I installed the Veeam Web Plug-in which were successful (at least the enterprise manager shows that the plug-in is installed). I used the vmware SSO admin account for the installation.

The thing: it doesn't show up. In vCSA management (via vsphere web client) I do see the veeam service but it says "not applicable". I couldn't find anything on vCSA and Web-Plugin. Any ideas?

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3418
Liked: 686 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by nielsengelen »

Did you try a reinstall already? Please contact support to get assistance with this issue via webex.
https://foonet.be

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.

alexgr
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alexgr »

Thank you,
I will test it out as soon as I have some time.

regards

Khue
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam 9 - vCenter Appliance and Plugin Registration

Post by Khue »

Hey everyone,

I just installed the Veeam plugin to our vCenter Appliance. Everything seemed to install okay from the Backup Enterprise Manager. The manager is showing that the plugin was successfully installed. I am currently in the WebUI and I do not see the Veeam plugin available. I went ahead and restarted the vsphere-client service on the vCenter Appliance and no luck. Any ideas what I am missing?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19219
Liked: 1723 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by foggy »

Please review the thread above for the hint. Thanks.

Khue
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by Khue »

Understood Foggy. Apologies for not finding this using search. My Google-Fu was weak in this case.

alphinantony
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony
Location: Kochi, India
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alphinantony »

I'm facing a similar problem and the steps mentioned in the above mentioned thread didnt solve it.
Vitaliy S. wrote:Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.
Image

Image

could someone help me out, please?

Thanks!

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3418
Liked: 686 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by nielsengelen »

Please open a support case for further investigation where what went wrong.
https://foonet.be

alphinantony
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony
Location: Kochi, India
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alphinantony » 1 person likes this post

The support team were able point out the issue in my backup infra. Since i didnt had a DNS server in my infra, the vCenter (VCSA)was not able to resolve the VBR EM url to download the plugins from EM. So i manually added an entry in the VCSA host file to resolve the EM hostname. Then everything worked perfectly!

I had a similar issue in my second installation (actually in production). But this time i had a DNS server, and so the issue was not with the hostname resolution. This time there was a firewall in between the VCSA and VBR EM, and as per the Veeam documentation (USED PORTS section) the traffic flow happens only from EM to vCenter during the plugin installation. But after checking the firewall logs i found out that the VCSA also initiates traffic to the EM after the plugin install is initiated from VBR EM, and it's being blocked. Also there is no mention of such a traffic flow in the user guide. After allowing that port (9443) VCSA --> EM, the plugin got installed perfectly.

I'm quoting the reply from Support Team
If there is a firewall, it might just block the traffic and installation may fail. Both sides initiate connection. First of all EM connects to vCenter, then vCenter connects to EM.

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 248 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by DGrinev »

Hi Antony,

Yep, that's correct, connections needed in a both ways. Thank you for the follow up!
There is a link in UG for the Enterprise manager network connectivity diagram.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests