Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
alexgr
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am
Contact:

vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alexgr » Aug 18, 2016 1:11 pm

Good day,
I have a Veeam v9 U1 and a brand-new vCenter Server Appliance. I installed the Veeam Web Plug-in which were successful (at least the enterprise manager shows that the plug-in is installed). I used the vmware SSO admin account for the installation.

The thing: it doesn't show up. In vCSA management (via vsphere web client) I do see the veeam service but it says "not applicable". I couldn't find anything on vCSA and Web-Plugin. Any ideas?

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2001
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by vmniels » Aug 18, 2016 7:07 pm

Did you try a reinstall already? Please contact support to get assistance with this issue via webex.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21536
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by Vitaliy S. » Aug 21, 2016 12:56 pm

Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.

alexgr
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 04, 2014 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alexgr » Aug 22, 2016 2:59 pm

Thank you,
I will test it out as soon as I have some time.

regards

Khue
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam 9 - vCenter Appliance and Plugin Registration

Post by Khue » Sep 26, 2016 9:44 pm

Hey everyone,

I just installed the Veeam plugin to our vCenter Appliance. Everything seemed to install okay from the Backup Enterprise Manager. The manager is showing that the plugin was successfully installed. I am currently in the WebUI and I do not see the Veeam plugin available. I went ahead and restarted the vsphere-client service on the vCenter Appliance and no luck. Any ideas what I am missing?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by foggy » Sep 27, 2016 11:01 am

Please review the thread above for the hint. Thanks.

Khue
Enthusiast
Posts: 63
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 26, 2013 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by Khue » Sep 27, 2016 12:12 pm

Understood Foggy. Apologies for not finding this using search. My Google-Fu was weak in this case.

alphinantony
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony
Location: Kochi, India
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alphinantony » Apr 09, 2017 5:14 pm

I'm facing a similar problem and the steps mentioned in the above mentioned thread didnt solve it.
Vitaliy S. wrote:Try to follow the solution in this thread > vSphere Web Client plug-in Not Showing Up. If this doesn't help, then opening a support case should be a way to go.
Image

Image

could someone help me out, please?

Thanks!

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2001
Liked: 442 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by vmniels » Apr 09, 2017 7:06 pm

Please open a support case for further investigation where what went wrong.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

alphinantony
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 04, 2017 5:03 am
Full Name: Alphin Antony
Location: Kochi, India
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by alphinantony » Apr 30, 2017 11:59 am 1 person likes this post

The support team were able point out the issue in my backup infra. Since i didnt had a DNS server in my infra, the vCenter (VCSA)was not able to resolve the VBR EM url to download the plugins from EM. So i manually added an entry in the VCSA host file to resolve the EM hostname. Then everything worked perfectly!

I had a similar issue in my second installation (actually in production). But this time i had a DNS server, and so the issue was not with the hostname resolution. This time there was a firewall in between the VCSA and VBR EM, and as per the Veeam documentation (USED PORTS section) the traffic flow happens only from EM to vCenter during the plugin installation. But after checking the firewall logs i found out that the VCSA also initiates traffic to the EM after the plugin install is initiated from VBR EM, and it's being blocked. Also there is no mention of such a traffic flow in the user guide. After allowing that port (9443) VCSA --> EM, the plugin got installed perfectly.

I'm quoting the reply from Support Team
If there is a firewall, it might just block the traffic and installation may fail. Both sides initiate connection. First of all EM connects to vCenter, then vCenter connects to EM.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1220
Liked: 128 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: vCenter Web Plug-in with vCSA

Post by DGrinev » May 03, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Antony,

Yep, that's correct, connections needed in a both ways. Thank you for the follow up!
There is a link in UG for the Enterprise manager network connectivity diagram.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jrbaumann and 29 guests