Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Locked
planetcoop
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2015 4:12 pm
Full Name: Chris Cooper
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by planetcoop » Apr 20, 2018 6:50 pm 1 person likes this post

@tsightler

I certainly understand as you mention code changes between RC/BETAs and GA. The RC worked with direct host connections from 9.5U3 but now does not. Clearly a change. The say way you describe testing is what my lab is for. We have started aggressively testing. Malware is important, vulnerabilities, you name it, you should test it. I also certainly understand the support ability of that.

I really do love veeam despite my frustrations here in the forums.

kroll
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 20, 2018 5:56 pm
Full Name: Kali Sunkara
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by kroll » Apr 20, 2018 8:19 pm

Did a test upgrade yesterday of 6.7 (ONLY VCSA not ESXi) and experienced the same errors as others with Veeam backups. Rolled the vCenter and PSC back to 6.5 and backup works normally.

Gnaah
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 07, 2017 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by Gnaah » Apr 22, 2018 8:23 am

Hi.

Actually I dont need the support part, just would like to see B&R working again :-)

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by DaStivi » Apr 23, 2018 1:51 pm 1 person likes this post

stagnant wrote:["brian.mathis"]I can confirm.....vCenter 6.7 (haven't upgraded my hosts yet) does NOT work with Veeam 9.5 Update 3. (Error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object)
Let's hope Update 3a becomes available soon."
Tested in our lab and same result here. Have not found any workaround yet other than adding 6.5 ESXi hosts directly.
i've updated an test vCenter and the hosts within… ah configured backupjob is still running without any issues… also Veeam B&R rescan of vCenter didn't quit with any error…
Image

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by DaStivi » Apr 23, 2018 2:11 pm 3 people like this post

i did some research… i got one vm with the "object reference not set error"... this vm got back'd-up with NBD Mode... i need some time to realize that there was a snapshot open... looks like because of that the vm didn't got saved with my storage integration… but basically it looks like that with storage integration (backup from storage snapshot, or NFS Direct backup) the backup of vms on 6.7 does work, but not with NBD mode for example!

Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 496
Liked: 182 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Cragdoo » Apr 23, 2018 3:16 pm 1 person likes this post

direct quote from Gostev, in this weeks "The Word from Gostev" ...you do subscribe to this don't you??? if not ...shame on you
As far VMware vSphere 6.7 support in Veeam products, it is important to realize that as an ISV, we get the GA code at the same time with everyone else, so it will take us some time to test all of our products against it now that it's available. However, we already know that the most current Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 Update 3 does NOT support vSphere 6.7 and as I mentioned here before, our release vehicle for adding this support will be Update 3a. Of course, we've already done a lot of work based on the pre-release code drops (for example, migrating our vSphere Web Client plug-in to HTML5 alone took us a few months). But it is only now that we can see the actual GA code (and notably, we're already finding some differences with the RC code) . Finally, since everyone will have the question about expected Update 3a timelines anyway: historically, we've been shipping new vSphere release support on average within 2 months from GA (with the official commitment for new platform support being 90 days from GA date). In this particular case however, there are additional unknowns in the equation: Windows Server 2016 RS4 and Windows 10 Spring Creators Update releases, support for which needs to catch the same release train. Although presumably, these should be shipped any day now – and testing the RC code has not revealed any major issues so far.

For those who did jump the gun and upgraded to vSphere 6.7 despite lack of official support, but unwilling to downgrade back to a supported vSphere version – remember that you can also use our agents to backup your VMs until Update 3a is shipped. We've actually just launched the 3 month production license program for Veeam Agents for Microsoft Windows and Linux, as well as Veeam Backup for Microst Office 365 - available to ALL customers and prospects without any restrictions. So if you have a need to protect your Windows and Linux workstation and servers whether they are physical or virtual, on-prem or in the cloud - or want a local backup of your corporate data hosted in Microsoft Office 365, you can now give our corresponding solutions a try. The license can be obtained directly from the download pages of Veeam Agents for Windows and Linux and Veeam Backup for Office 365.

cgrossman
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Apr 19, 2018 2:32 pm
Full Name: Carlo
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by cgrossman » Apr 23, 2018 7:04 pm 2 people like this post

DaStivi wrote:i did some research… i got one vm with the "object reference not set error"... this vm got back'd-up with NBD Mode... i need some time to realize that there was a snapshot open... looks like because of that the vm didn't got saved with my storage integration… but basically it looks like that with storage integration (backup from storage snapshot, or NFS Direct backup) the backup of vms on 6.7 does work, but not with NBD mode for example!
DaStivi, you are awesome! Under Backup Infrastructure\Backup Proxies, I selected my proxy, went to Properties, and Transport mode was set to Automatic selection. I changed that to Virtual Appliance, and unchecked the box for Failover to network mode if primary mode fails. Now my backup WORKS! And, it's much faster. I was topping out around 120Mb throughput before, but now I'm seeing over 400Mb. Veeam Forums FTW!

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by DaStivi » Apr 24, 2018 6:12 am

cgrossman wrote:DaStivi, you are awesome! Under Backup Infrastructure\Backup Proxies, I selected my proxy, went to Properties, and Transport mode was set to Automatic selection. I changed that to Virtual Appliance, and unchecked the box for Failover to network mode if primary mode fails. Now my backup WORKS! And, it's much faster. I was topping out around 120Mb throughput before, but now I'm seeing over 400Mb. Veeam Forums FTW!
nice workaround! btw. virtual appliance is always prefered to nbd… nbd uses the esx mgmt interface, and even there VMware trottle the traffic….
Cragdoo wrote:direct quote from Gostev, in this weeks "The Word from Gostev" ...you do subscribe to this don't you??? if not ...shame on you
thirst things first, vSphere was released even bevor Gostev sent his newsletter… and some users want's to update as soon as possible because knowing whats gooing is their daily business…

i didn't read someone to really flame about Veeam not support vSphere 6.7 from day-0, also everybody can see that when VMware changes things not vendor can instantly support such things, but this is exactly what these forums are for... to find people and share the knowledge and possibly, like we did, find workarounds!

i can guess that could even for Veeam be interessting to know that some combinations are working allready!
for me it looks like VMware changed a lot in the network transport mode, or mgmt interface of the esx/vCenter components….

sideshowtob
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 25, 2009 3:41 pm
Full Name: Toby Brown
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by sideshowtob » Apr 24, 2018 6:51 am 1 person likes this post

Cragdoo wrote:for those who have upgraded, are we talking your lab/test/dev environments? Surely no-one was stu... brave enough to upgrade to 6.7 on release day in production????
Lab, yes....of course that's what I meant... :lol:

Second post in 8 years!! :o

Cragdoo
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 496
Liked: 182 times
Joined: Sep 27, 2011 12:17 pm
Full Name: Craig Dalrymple
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Cragdoo » Apr 24, 2018 7:58 am 1 person likes this post

thirst things first, vSphere was released even bevor Gostev sent his newsletter… and some users want's to update as soon as possible because knowing whats gooing is their daily business…
Given Gostev's newletter is a weekly one, and is sent out every Sunday Evening/Monday moring, this is the 1st newsletter since the 6.7 release, so I'd say that's a decent response from the Senior Vice President of Product Management. How many other vendors would do that?
i didn't read someone to really flame about Veeam not support vSphere 6.7 from day-0, also everybody can see that when VMware changes things not vendor can instantly support such things, but this is exactly what these forums are for... to find people and share the knowledge and possibly, like we did, find workarounds!
Not flame, pointing out facts. Also workarounds yes, supported no.

leeg123
Enthusiast
Posts: 37
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 13, 2010 12:50 am
Full Name: lee garet
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by leeg123 » Apr 24, 2018 2:41 pm 1 person likes this post

i doubt this is useful info, but we upgraded our LAB to 6.7
We also can't backup, and this is totally fine. However as a test, we initiated an instant VM restore into the ESX 6.7 and it did successfully restore and boot
Again, not useful, but hopefully helpful to those out there who feel the need to test things that probably shouldn't even be bother with.
Eagerly awaiting update 3!!!

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 125
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by nitramd » Apr 24, 2018 3:05 pm 1 person likes this post

So, do we always shoot first and ask questions later? I've done this a number of times in my career and have spent many a late night fixing the resulting problems.

If you've been in IT long enough and have had your arse chewed off often enough (I'm standing as I write this) then you learn to do research, to be skeptical, and to be patient.

As George Santayana said, "Those who do not learn history are doomed to repeat it."

DaStivi
Service Provider
Posts: 93
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jun 30, 2015 9:13 am
Full Name: Stephan Lang
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by DaStivi » Apr 25, 2018 10:06 am 1 person likes this post

leeg123 wrote:i doubt this is useful info, but we upgraded our LAB to 6.7
We also can't backup, and this is totally fine. However as a test, we initiated an instant VM restore into the ESX 6.7 and it did successfully restore and boot
Again, not useful, but hopefully helpful to those out there who feel the need to test things that probably shouldn't even be bother with.
Eagerly awaiting update 3!!!
check a few posts above…
backup from storage snapshot seeams to work fine… also backup with appliance mode looks like to work fine…

jozne
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 6:55 pm
Full Name: Jari Haikonen
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by jozne » Apr 26, 2018 5:45 am 1 person likes this post

Hi

So is there currently any way to get the backups working with vCenter 6.7? appliance mode does not work atleast for us, same errors.

2018-04-26 07:41:07 :: Preparing backup proxy xxxxxxx for disk Hard disk 1 [hotadd]
2018-04-26 07:41:27 :: Error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

It's great when your provider decides to go for 6.7 instead 6.5 in the last minute and your backups go to oblivion :)

Gnaah
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 07, 2017 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Gnaah » Apr 27, 2018 4:31 pm

Yes.
Is not Veeam that "Agile" anymore than what it was in previous years ?
Are you becoming too big perhaps, turning into another Elephant ?
I truly hope not.
A colleague of mine already said, why not bundle two things into one: "VeeaMWare"

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gmajestix and 30 guests