Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Locked
Cloudmonkey
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 23, 2017 3:17 pm
Full Name: Cloud Monkey Ltd
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Cloudmonkey » May 04, 2018 12:50 pm

Not quite an answer to the question, but the later version of VCSA 6.5 is based on Photon and the HTML5 UI is actually fairly identical to 6.7. Certainly more featured than the first 6.5 HTML UI. Obviously it works just fine with 9.5u3 so perhaps a handy stepping stone until 6.7 is supported. :)

KKCChip
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 04, 2018 1:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by KKCChip » May 04, 2018 1:41 pm

I was able to get Veeam to work in VA mode after I disabled any Win 7/Server 2008 proxies. I haven't tested on Win 10, but Server 2012 and 2016 worked.

nilsbeyer
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 27, 2017 7:28 am
Full Name: Nils Beyer
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by nilsbeyer » May 04, 2018 3:33 pm 1 person likes this post

Gostev wrote:(...) For example, we have just found one critical bug with hot add leading to data corruption, and now need to build a code to work around this one.
Hmm, that's not good. Can you provide us 6.7 users at least with a hotfix for that bug so that we can have reliable hot-add based backups/replications until a new Veeam release has been published? Unfortunately, I am forced to use ESXi 6.7 because here, I have so fresh hardware where ESXi 6.5Ux crashes instantly; and 6.7 already has gone productively...

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23001
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Gostev » May 04, 2018 4:27 pm

Based on the complexity of this fix, most likely we will not be able to provide one as a hot fix.

In your situation, general recommendation is to use Veeam Agents for Windows and Linux until the official vSphere 6.7 support is released as a part of Veeam Backup & Replication Update 3a. Because even if we could provide the hot fix for this particular bug, there's no guarantee there are no other bugs leading to data corruption exist (yet to be found).

Thanks!

nilsbeyer
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 27, 2017 7:28 am
Full Name: Nils Beyer
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by nilsbeyer » May 04, 2018 5:38 pm

Gostev wrote:In your situation, general recommendation is to use Veeam Agents for Windows and Linux until the official vSphere 6.7 support is released as a part of Veeam Backup & Replication Update 3a.
So, you suggest that I should switch to Veeam Agents for Windows resp. for Linux instead of Veeam Proxies?

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23001
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Gostev » May 04, 2018 9:48 pm

Correct. By coincidence, there's a free 3 months agent subscription promo going right now.

rstoner
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 21, 2017 7:32 am
Full Name: Roderick Stoner
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by rstoner » May 07, 2018 4:40 am

gostev wrote:No, normally updates do not require any code changes from us, as they bring nothing but bug fixes.
Yes, usually that is correct but in this update (6.5 U2) VMware back ported some features from 6.7. Infact if you do install the update, you won't be able to upgrade to 6.7 GA. That's why I asked if we should wait before upgrading our infrastructure this time round to U2. Maybe VBR 9.5 3a will be able to handle all features.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 286
Liked: 17 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by jamerson » May 07, 2018 10:50 pm

as I believen its should works on 6.5 U2 with the latest VEEAM.
i'v test it on a LAB and it does works i can backup and restore.
maybe someone else can correct me if i am wrong.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16841
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by foggy » May 08, 2018 10:37 am

Hi Julien, there's a separate topic on 6.5 U2 support, please keep an eye on it.

pnunn
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 12, 2018 2:17 am
Full Name: Peter Nunn
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by pnunn » May 13, 2018 5:14 am

Thank you, without realizing it I find myself on the bleeding edge with the lab setup I've just spun up to test all of this out before deploying it to two data centers. Fixed the problem I was having,

Peter.

pnunn
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 12, 2018 2:17 am
Full Name: Peter Nunn
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by pnunn » May 13, 2018 5:50 am

Spoke too soon. Fixed for the linux servers, still broken for the windows ones...

Peter.

jlhall1000
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 17, 2017 11:06 am
Full Name: Jason Hall
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by jlhall1000 » May 14, 2018 10:05 am

Slightly off topic but in the beta testing did you see any major performance increases?

I've read multiple articles relating to improvements with the NBD

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 23001
Liked: 2890 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Gostev » May 14, 2018 2:25 pm

Yes, but with certain caveats... see today's forum digest

dairuin
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 13, 2015 2:33 pm
Full Name: Davide
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by dairuin » May 22, 2018 2:36 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi all,
any news about release of this patch ?

thanks

thalooka
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 08, 2017 11:15 am
Full Name: Daniel
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by thalooka » May 22, 2018 9:25 pm

Yeah checking the news in forum daily for anything new since 6.7 was wanted by an pretty big customer against our advice and now they are using backup agents for just the important vm's

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 25 guests