Moving To New Repository

VMware specific discussions

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby r.mckeon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:45 pm

foggy wrote:Rick, please review the steps required to change the backup repository in the beginning of this thread. Thanks.


Thanks :) I had a look in the forums beforehand for any similar topics but I must have missed this, sorry about that.
r.mckeon
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Rick McKeon

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Aug 26, 2014 1:54 pm

No problem, thanks for trying to search prior posting. Hope this one helps.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15094
Liked: 1111 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby r.mckeon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:27 pm 1 person likes this post

So I did some testing after following the procedure written in this thread. Just to clarify, these are the steps I had to take:

Old PC/share: \\PC-Old\Share
New PC/share: \\PC-New\Share

1. Move the external hard drive to the new PC
2. Add new repository in Veeam as \\PC-New\Share
3. Go to existing backup job, and with \\PC-Old\Share still selected as the backup repository, click Map Backup
4. Map to backup to the same job
5. Now change the backup repository in the job to \\PC-New\Share and I could see the backup files listed
6. Click next, next, next and Finish
7. Job ran normally!
r.mckeon
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 59
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Rick McKeon

[MERGED] : backup repository migration

Veeam Logoby TomPioreck » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:32 pm

We're experiencing server growth, which is causing us to address hardware storage issues within our repository environment. All in all, not a bad issue, it's by design for increased usage of Veeam, specifically the use of backup copy jobs for its GFS abilities for our retention policies.

I've been able to change the target location without issue within Veeam and I've been manually moving the repository folder from one location to the other, prior to changing the target within the job(s) themselves. I just want to confirm that this is the best method or if there's another way that I should be migrating the destinations for these jobs.

It's likely that I'll need to migrate the jobs at least one or two more times before our upgrades are complete.

Thanks.
TomPioreck
Influencer
 
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 6:18 pm
Full Name: Tom Pioreck

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:45 pm 1 person likes this post

Hi, Tom,

Your post has been merged into existing discussion regarding similar matter. Please, check the answers provided above.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

[MERGED] UNC changed for repository

Veeam Logoby Peter Faber » Fri Sep 12, 2014 11:38 am

how do i change the share folder location? (a NAS has a new IP)
Peter Faber
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:56 am
Full Name: Peter Faber

Re: UNC changed for repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:21 pm

Hello Peter,

Could you clarify the issue?
Do you have existing backup jobs mapped to the repository?

You can just add the repository, make rescan it and you will see all backup files and restore points on it. Then you can map there your existing jobs if you have any.

Thank you.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5034
Liked: 419 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

[MERGED] Move Repository Copy Job

Veeam Logoby Stabz06 » Mon Dec 29, 2014 11:56 am

Hi guys!

I want to move my Backup Copy Repository to another partition on the same server.

change Backup Copy with path E:\VeeamCopy to path D:\VeeamCopy

I tryed this procedure http://www.veeam.com/fr/kb1729 but doesnt seems working. The backups files doesn't imported.
Stabz06
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:39 am

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Dec 29, 2014 12:02 pm

Please review the procedure outlined in this thread and feel free to contact technical support for assistance, if it does not work for you. Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15094
Liked: 1111 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] : Upgrading Windows Repository servers

Veeam Logoby Brad.Morris » Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:31 am

Hi all,

We currently are running Windows 2012 servers for our Repository servers. We have Windows Dedup enabled and seeing good results.

We are now looking at upgrading these servers to Windows 2012R2. Is it as simple as building the new servers and moving the attached RDM's from the old servers to the new ones? Or is the a process out there that documents the steps required for replacing/upgrading the Repository servers?

Thanks,
Brad.
Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Full Name: Brad Morris

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:52 am

Hi, Brad,

You can either use the procedure described above or perform in-place upgrade to Windows Server 2012 R2.

Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Brad.Morris » Tue Feb 10, 2015 9:49 pm

That was what I thought as I have moved backup jobs around for space reasons. My biggest worry is copy jobs due to issues I am having now with moving them around. I am worried that I will move them and not be able to point the jobs to the new location.
Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Full Name: Brad Morris

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:25 am

Brad, backup copy jobs can be mapped as well as backup jobs.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5034
Liked: 419 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:39 am

Providing you follow the recommended steps, there should be no issues with that.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13563
Liked: 1007 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Moving To New Repository

Veeam Logoby Brad.Morris » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:27 pm

Thanks all. I will wait until patch #2 comes out with the fix for the re-mapping of copy jobs.
Brad.Morris
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 43
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:29 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Full Name: Brad Morris

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukedaynz and 24 guests