VM moved to new vCenter

VMware specific discussions

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:53 pm

David, just so you know - the KB article has been updated.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby wojciech.bajorek » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:57 pm

arthur.reed wrote:Just got a response from support:

"Here's my response from what I'm seeing in the notes: VMware does not support changing MoRef IDs manually, so neither do we. You'll notice that, even with our conversion tool, it is emphasized that we offer it as a convenience and do not support it.

Once that MoRef id has changed, you will have to re-add the VMs into the job. As such, the original backup job will run an active full. and the Backup Copy job will run a full. There really is no way around this."

So it looks like I'm screwed and the only thing I can do is pay for a reseed. I replied that I wouldn't think that you were changine the MoRef ID's on the VM but rather changing them in the VEEAM database to map the new ID's.

Sorry for bringing this quotation up front as it is one month old already.

Can anyone explain this to me: "Once that MoRef id has changed, you will have to re-add the VMs into the job."?
If I understand it right, then it's just a bullsh**.
If I understand it right v2, then this is something I had a rough fight with support during last year. 2-3-4 engineers and in the end I received "sorry, we can't help and this will not work - all replica chains must be removed, we can only use VM seeding to keep single replica file.".

Yep, it worked flawlessly (100% success) and for me, who nearly had no knowledge about Veeam database, it took only several hours to find a solution.
I successfully migrated source VMs and replicas from old vCenter to the new one preserving replicas' chains. No dirty DNS hacks.
What is more important I didn't have to buy 100TB+ storage only for vCenter migration... Sad, but true.
wojciech.bajorek
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:42 am
Full Name: Wojciech Bajorek

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:38 pm

oliverL wrote:Can we except the same behavior if the hosts with the VMs are on a new vCenter (no upgrade Installation vCenter 5.5 to 6.0 ) (and still have their corresponding tags?) or will Veeam work flawlessly since it needs to build the vm list anyways?

The behavior will be the same, since, regardless of how VMs are added, they are tracked by their IDs.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:03 pm

wojciech.bajorek wrote:Yep, it worked flawlessly (100% success) and for me, who nearly had no knowledge about Veeam database, it took only several hours to find a solution.
I successfully migrated source VMs and replicas from old vCenter to the new one preserving replicas' chains. No dirty DNS hacks.
What is more important I didn't have to buy 100TB+ storage only for vCenter migration... Sad, but true.

Wojciech, could you please clarify, did you use vCenter Migration Utility discussed in this thread?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby wojciech.bajorek » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:26 pm

Support guys assigned to this case tried to use it but the generated txt file was a mess (too many conflicts and occurrences).
I used SQL Management Studio and Notepad as, sorry to say but, the whole problem is located within Veeam DB only.

It's not a problem of VMware and their changing IDs.
Of course, MoRef change during ESXi move between vCenters is painful, but this is just data that needs to be updated in the database of the backup system...
wojciech.bajorek
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:42 am
Full Name: Wojciech Bajorek

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:19 pm

Got it, so you've managed to map IDs manually directly in the Veeam B&R database.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby wojciech.bajorek » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:09 pm 1 person likes this post

Exactly.

The following SQL sentence solved my replica's migration problem to the new VC:
UPDATE dbo.Replicas
SET target_location='NEW_VC\CLUSTER_NAME', target_vm_ref='NEW_MOREF_ID'
WHERE target_vm_name='VM_REPLICA_NAME';

Notes:
1. It worked for 9.0. It seems that there is a need to make changes in 9.5 as the database layout is different.
2. It worked in my environment, but it's best to check it out first in your environments (create test VM, create test replication job with test VM, make several replications, move VM replica to single ESXi and migrate all others VM replicas to other ESXi hosts, disconnect ESXi with test replica, connect ESXi to new vCenter, refresh VC in B&R, update SQL, test replication job after changes).
3. DC/CL/Folder layout was the same in both VC.
4. You have to write down old and new MoReF IDs.
5. I did several replica restore tests - all of them worked for me.

Maybe this will help anyone with replicas migration.
wojciech.bajorek
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:42 am
Full Name: Wojciech Bajorek

[MERGED] Reset target backup after remove and add from vcent

Veeam Logoby eric » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:45 am

A virtual machine was removed and readded to vCenter. This caused backup and replication jobs (Veeam 7) to fail.
The jobs were edited to remove and add the vm.
However the jobs created new backups and replication machines for the vm.
How can the vm be pointed back to the original backups and replication machine?

TIA,

~eric
eric
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:48 am

Hi Eric, the behavior is expected due to VM getting new ID upon re-registration in vCenter. You can map the jobs to existing backups/replicas, however, the entire VM will still be read during the first job cycle after this. Please reveiw the thread above for additional considerations.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Caveats moving from VCentre 5.5 to 6

Veeam Logoby deesloop » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:16 pm

I'm implementing a new Vcentre 6.1u3 virtual appliance
I have a 5.5 just now and wondered if there were any issues migrating from one to the other that could affect Veeam.
Aside from the changes in names etc?
Once complete I'll migrate 5.5 hosts to 6 also.

Thank you
deesloop
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:39 am
Full Name: Darren Slupek

[MERGED] Query regarding migration

Veeam Logoby deesloop » Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:40 am

I migrated all my VMs to a new Vcentre
I used the tool to do the donkey work and it appeared to have worked.

However
All my backups fail, and I'm not sure how to do handle replication.

Having run the tool I did a recalculate on all the backup jobs and they all changed size which suggest they were at least scanned.

However Im getting a connection issue

Error: Cannot get service content. Soap fault. TimeoutDetail: 'connect failed in tcp_connect()', endpoint: 'https://172.16.64.45:443/sdk' SOAP connection is not available. Connection ID: [172.16.64.45]. Failed to create NFC download stream. NFC path: [nfc://conn:172.16.64.45,nfchost:host-94,stg:datastore-62@Term1/Term1.vmx].

When can I power off the old VCentre?
deesloop
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:39 am
Full Name: Darren Slupek

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:29 pm

Hi Darren, have you re-pointed your jobs to VMs via new vCenter?
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby deesloop » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:02 am

Yes I have. I logged this with support but just as I did the fuirst backup worked.
However I now have issues backing up to the cloud.
Nothing ever straightforward.
deesloop
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 39
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:39 am
Full Name: Darren Slupek

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby tinto1970 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:09 am

hallo, i'm posting a new "experience" with the use of vCenter Migration Tool:

we had a 2 ESXi 5.5 host cluster, using NFS on NetApp datastore. Backup from storage snapshot was working fine. In the upgrade path to new vSphere version, we have installed a new VCSA 6.5 appliance, and we have connected the ESXi hosts to the new vCenter. We have remapped our existing jobs to the new vcenter using the vCenter Migration Tool. Than we have performed a rescan of the vCenter and a rescan of the NetApp storage system.

Jobs run fine but they are failing back to network mode, instead of using storage snapshots.
But I tried to deploy a new VM for test purpose, and created a new Backup Job saving only this VM: in this case, backup from Storage Snapshot works fine.

I know the tool is not officially supported, but i tried to open a ticket [ID# 02120021] :oops:

The B-plan is to recreate new jobs from scratch (i have enough space in my repo to host full backups before deleting the old ones).
Alessandro Tinivelli aka Tinto
@tinto1970
tinto1970
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 69
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:40 am
Location: Bologna, Italy
Full Name: Alessandro Tinivelli

Re: VM moved to new vCenter

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:56 am

Before re-creating everything from scratch, can you re-create one particular job, map it to already created backup files and see whether this fixes problem with processing mode?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allankjaer, Google [Bot], rgreen83 and 19 guests