Availability for the Always-On Enterprise
MikeK
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 02, 2017 5:46 pm
Full Name: Michael Kee
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by MikeK » Dec 28, 2017 2:33 pm

Thanks for the responses :D We do indeed save the configuration backup to a repository located at our DR site. This definitely works and provides a copy at our remote site. The option to save it to a network share IMO would be a nice to have in the future.

I've SVMd the VBR server to a replicated datastore and plan to use SRM. We do regular DR testing where we failover critical servers to our DR site and test various applications. The goal is to incorporate the VBR server into our existing playbook and ensure we can actually perform restores during a DR test. Veeam replication would certainly accomplish this as well but introduces another orchestration layer outside of what we do for the majority of our production infrastructure. The configuration backup will, of course, provide an additional layer of protection. Theoretically there shouldn't be any issues with this but I will not know until our next DR test.

Thanks again! Happy New Year.

NetAdMBC
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 24, 2012 5:20 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] backing up the veeam server itself

Post by NetAdMBC » Jan 04, 2018 2:38 pm

I have a VM on which Veeam B&R9.5 is installed. I used to have in on a physical machine and would back it up with Windows Server Backup. Now that it's on a VM, is there any problem with using Veeam to back itself up? I would think it would work, but I just want to be sure I don't end up with something like the scene in Being John Malkovich in which Malkovich enters the portal into is own head....

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15077
Liked: 1132 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by v.Eremin » Jan 04, 2018 2:49 pm

No issues with such scenario. Additionally, I'd recommend creating a tiny share on physical machine, adding it as repository to a backup console and pointing configuration backup to it. Thanks.

ProdEng
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 10, 2018 10:07 pm
Full Name: Jason R
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by ProdEng » Feb 10, 2018 10:14 pm

Hi,
We have Veeam Backup and Replication Availabilty 9.5 installed on a Phsical server backing up several VMs on a seperate host.
As it does not seem possible to use B&R to backup the physical backup server I am wondering if it is possible to install and use the Free Veeam agent for Windows 2.1 on the B&R box to backup the backup server?
Many thanks for any help.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1175
Liked: 125 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by DGrinev » Feb 12, 2018 9:48 am

Hi Jason and welcome to the community!

The recommended approach is using native configuration backup, thus in case of disaster you can reinstall the product and restore configuration.
However, you can use Veeam Agent for Windows to protect physical server and create recovery media. Thanks!

govi
Influencer
Posts: 19
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 26, 2017 11:38 am
Full Name: Govinda Naik
Contact:

[MERGED] failed Veeam B&R server, how to recover from backup

Post by govi » Mar 15, 2018 1:44 pm

Hi Veeam Experts,

I have installed Veeam B&R on one of VM Machine and backup is stored on NAS (Backup Repository). Was just wondering if this particular Veeam B&R VM fails then how we can restore the Veeam B&R VM from backup since we don't have access to console. I don't have replication server as of now and may be in feature we will consider it.

Do you have any workaround for this kind of scenario?

Thanks,
Govi

chjones
Enthusiast
Posts: 98
Liked: 26 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2012 7:53 pm
Full Name: Chris Jones
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by chjones » Mar 19, 2018 3:09 am

Hi Govi,

In this instance, you could use the VBK Extract Utility (https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95) and use that to open the VBK file and extract your Veeam Server, then upload it into a datastore, register the VM, and power it on. A good tip is to grab a copy of the Extract Utility out of the Veeam Backup folder and place a copy (or a couple of copies) in separate locations so you have access to it in a disaster.

I'd suggest protecting the Veeam Server in its own backup job to keep that VBK file as small as possible so there is less for the extract utility to process.

You could also use Veeam to protect itself with by creating a replica of itself, with a Veeam Replication Job, onto another ESXi server and storage system.

reaperhammer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 18, 2016 7:59 pm
Full Name: Will S
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by reaperhammer » May 08, 2018 9:30 pm

Hi All,

We have a PROD Veeam server (physical & uses SAN snaps) and a standby DR Veeam Server in a DR site (VM). We use Rental License type. We use a stretched LAN. We have VCenter high availability so all Vmware DataCenters are under 1 vCenter. We backup many VM's in PROD and we want to replicate some to DR.
Setting up replication jobs now and I have thought of 2 options:
1. Have replication jobs run in PROD Veeam server. If failover is required, restore Config backup of PROD Veeam server to DR Veeam server and start failover plans.
Pros, Only one license required (or can we use the same rental license in DR to replicate VM's licensed in PROD??), Only one server is controlling the proxy and repository services on the PROD Veeam server.
Cons, Another manual step is required at failover time.
2. Have Replication jobs running from DR Veeam server all the time and just start failover from there.
Pros, Failover can be done almost immediately.
Cons, 2 "Brains and one body" for Veeam proxy and Veeam Repository services running on the PROD Veeam server - or another proxy server in PROD is required, also the possibility of backup jobs running at the same time as replication jobs and causing failure of either. Additional Veeam licensing required (or not - Can someone answer this?)

I personally prefer Option 1 :)

skrause
Expert
Posts: 355
Liked: 62 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by skrause » May 09, 2018 12:50 pm

From a licensing standpoint Veeam doesn't care how many Veeam servers you run, just how many objects (either host sockets or VMs depending on licensing model) are being backed up/replicated.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

mkaec
Expert
Posts: 259
Liked: 55 times
Joined: Jul 16, 2015 1:31 pm
Full Name: Marc K
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by mkaec » May 09, 2018 2:10 pm

skrause wrote:From a licensing standpoint Veeam doesn't care how many Veeam servers you run...
I really like that about Veeam.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16688
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by foggy » May 10, 2018 4:50 pm

reaperhammer wrote:I personally prefer Option 1 :)
Yes, it's completely a matter your preference, select approach that is more acceptable in your environment. Licensing question is out of scope here, as mentioned above.

reaperhammer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 18, 2016 7:59 pm
Full Name: Will S
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by reaperhammer » May 14, 2018 11:58 pm

Thanks for that information, can you confirm this still applies when using the rental license type with automatic license reporting enabled? I was worried that if PROD Veeam server reports we need 100VM's license then DR server reports we only need 50VM's the Veeam license server will only know the last number that was reported, if that happened to be DR, that would be a big problem for PROD.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16688
Liked: 1343 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: What is the best way of protecting the Veeam Backup serv

Post by foggy » May 30, 2018 5:18 pm

Veeam license server will know the total number of protected VMs, so you should be fine with the rental license. Anyway, only actually protected VMs are reported.

rurouni
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jul 24, 2013 7:21 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Drp considering Veeam backup server itself

Post by rurouni » Sep 20, 2018 7:08 pm

Hi, all

We are building a Drp based on Veeam Replication for some vms between two sites.
Prod site actually hosts the backup infrastructure including vbr server, repositories, and proxies.
How should we consider the total loss of primary site? I read a lot that some suggests to place the vbr server on the secondary site so that it would not benaffected and you could manage to failover from there.

However, to me it is not satisfying since in this configuration if you lose the secondary site you ll loose your ability to backup and replicate, which is not acceptable.

So my question is: what are your suggestions if you need to protect the vbr server so that you would be able to perform failover once the primary site failed?
If the vbr has failed. Is it still possible and consistant to perform the DR « manually »
Is there a more clever Way to keep the replication console available so you can safely perform your Failover?

Regards

bdufour
Enthusiast
Posts: 81
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: Drp considering Veeam backup server itself

Post by bdufour » Sep 20, 2018 9:25 pm

Install two instances of veeam one at the primary site and one at the DR site, but run everything out of the DR site and back up the configuration. if you lose the DR site you can restore the config at the primary site and start running from there. you can install as many instances of veeam without licensing issues bc its not tied to installs. trust me, running veeam and ALSO vcenter out of the dr site is the way to go.

you can fail over manually - ive tested this thoroughly, but its not ideal - bc you would lose all restore points after you consolidate the replica disk at the DR site and they will no longer be tracked by veeam. once the primary site comes back up you will have to re replicate the VMs back to primary using the primary site vms as seeds (if it isnt a total loss).

so even if your veeam server is at the DR site, but vcenter is at the primary site and you lose the primary site there would be no way to fail over from veeam without vcenter, unless vcenter is at the dr site with veeam or replicated to the dr site and restored first (but it may not work depending on how you initially set up vcenter) OR you configure your replication jobs through the host at the dr site and not vcenter.

hope this helps!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DGrinev and 42 guests